Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
June 24th 1987
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Boulia - Bedourie


June 24, Wednesday.
Filmed around Boulia this morning and set off south around 10:00. The road follows close to the track that Burke & Wills travelled. As the day wore on, my time was taken up with keeping the car on the track, away from deep wheel ruts that gave the differential a hard time. Got through some small wet spots but in the end become hopelessly bogged up to my axels in water. My own fought, should have been concentration a bit more and would not have missed the easier track that bypassed this “lake” in the track. For the next two hours I was stuck, it became clear very quickly that I was not going to free the car on my own. A 4-wheel drive vehicle came along and dragged the car in reverse for about 200 feet.
I drove the last 60 kilometres into Bedourie; very grateful fellow travellers stopped and got me out. Stayed at the Bedourie Hotel overnight ($14). The locals were telling me about the track south and had already heard about my troubles on the track north of town (bush telegraph). I’m glad there was a vacant room because it has got very cold outside.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb