My Cairns!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
December 5th 2003
Published: December 5th 2003
Edit Blog Post

CairnsCairnsCairns

Along the Esplande of Cairns
Everyone knows Cairns because it is home of the Great Barrier Reef but for me it was home for 2 and 1/2 months. I have been living and working in Cairns for the past several months and now it is time to leave traveling the rest of Australia. When I first came over to Australia my goal was to work and live as a local; I definitely have been able to accomplish this goal and what a place to live in.

PJ O'Briens was my place of employment and it was not your typical Irish pub with its chaoitic backpacker meals, bartneders in hot pants, crazy rugby fans, dance music, coyote ugly nights, and International customers and staff. PJs' was one of the busiest bars in town and I got a chance to see the backpacker nightlife, which Cairns is infamous for its loud and obnoxious bars. So this is where I worked meeting locals and getting familiar with the city area.

Cairns has a lot more to offer than nightlife; it is situated on the water offering highlights such as the man-made saltwater lagoon, the famous esplanade with heaps of hostels and restaurants, rainforest, botanical gardens,
WaterfallWaterfallWaterfall

This was a deserted waterfall about 45 min from Cairns!!
marina with loads of cruiseships and sailboats, Aboriginal cultural park, night markets...

My Cairns was more than what you see though, it was a wonderful experience with many memories! When we first got to Cairns we got sucked into the partying all night thing especially since several of our friends from Sydney met us after traveling up the east coast. Some of Brie and I's favorite venues were the Pier Tavern with its free Sunday BBQ and "Sporties" for hospitality nights. Cairns was also where I hung out with my "holiday boyfriend" and learned a little bit more how Aussie guys are! Also, Cairns is where I realized that my travels had just begun and I am on my own without a traveling partner.

Some more memories to add were traveling to Cape Tribulation and Port Douglas, traveling the Atherton tablelands, fighting through the PJs' crowds to find empty plates, watching the Rugby World cup, seeing the Bahanna Gorge, fishing out on the reef, cruising to Green Island, walking to the lookout over Cairns, impatiently waiting for the buses that pass me up, humidity, driving on the left side, lower-class Aboriginals, and my 2 English flatemates.
Scotty and IScotty and IScotty and I

Hanging out on the Esplande at Rattle and Hum

Now, my working visa is up and my tourist visa is starting. This is what I have been waiting for- seeing the land down under. First on the agenda is the east coast sailing the Whitsundays and 4-wheeling on Fraiser Island. So much too see in 3 months but I plan to make the most of my time and experiencing what backpacking through Australia is really like!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.429s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 86; dbt: 0.08s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb