Tropical Queensland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
July 13th 2007
Published: July 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I crossed the Tropic of Capricorn sometime during the night on the over night train. I left Brisbane at 6 pm and arrived at Townsville 18 hours later. I slept quite well on this swanky train, the Tilt Train. We had seats, not sleeping compartments, but they tilted back quite far. Each seat had a television, and several channels. One channel was a live camera from the front of the train, you could see where you were going. And meals were served to our seats. Nice and wide seats in the carriage, 2 together, the aisle, and one on the other side, that was my seat - an aisle and a window seat - it's the same seat. Nice.

Townsville is a mix of old buildings from the turn of the last century, including my hotel. Creaky old wood with ornate decorations. Quite a nice setting amid the palm trees, the harbour and the sandy beach. Like an old colonial outpost. (Well, I guess it was 100 years ago.) During the war, Townsville was a major navy port for the Americans and Australians, none of that remains. While walking through the park near the harbour I spotted two Kookaburras high up on a lamp, they always come in pairs.

I went to the Reef Headquarters Aquarium today. Saw many colourful fish and coral. Even saw Nemo hiding in the coral. Green turtles are large, the shell is at least 1 m. Lots and lots of varieties of fish. Next door was the Museum of Tropical Queensland. Here was an extensive exhibition detailing the Mutiny on the Bounty, and the Pandora that sank and was recently discovered. The Pandora was sent by the British Navy to capture the mutineers. Upstairs was a science room. I threw a tennis ball at 77 km/h. And an exhibit about mangrove forests.

When I get to Cairns I'll take my trip(s) to the Great Barrier Reef. I travel by train to Cairns tomorrow (Saturday), and I'll have 4 days and 5 nights to see it all. People here say it's cold. It's not cold here, only when the wind blows when you're in the shade. The only time I need my sweater is at night. And they call this winter.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



13th July 2007

Hello
Hiya Chris Hello from me in England, monitoring your progress as I said I would. Looking forward to the photos. stay safe and have fun. Tracyxx

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb