Rocky Part I


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rockhampton
March 22nd 2006
Published: March 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I awake and immeditely clutch for support, looking at the floor literally feet below me. Im in the top bunk of a run down room in the Ascot Stonegrill Backpackers. I jump down from the bunk and check out the hostel. Since I arrived in the middle of the night I havent yet had a chance to see the facilities. I chat to the operator of the Hostel in the downstairs bar (this place is also a restaurant and hotel) and she shows me an article on the famous stonegrilled steaks on offer. After all this is Rockhampton - the beef capital of Australia and the only real thing of note about Rocky, as the town is affectionately know to the locals. It's also home to the University of Central Queensland - but this is of little relevance to me! Rocky lies on the tropic of Capricorn so officially im no longer holidaying in a Tropical clime... although it certainly feels like I am. Everyone is cashing in on the catchiness of the word Capricorn - so im booked to go out with local legend Capricorn Dave on one of his beef 'n reef tours. However this is me, and with me goes my luck. Dave persuades me to postpone until tomorrow, as it would just be me and him heading out.

I decided to make the most of the day and headed out on foot to explore Rocky, making my way through the Kershaw gardens, across the river and along Quay street with its Cowbow town style buildings. A health food shop seemed a good place to get a nice healthy smoothie - and I watch in horror as a single slice of mango is dropped into a cocktail of water, milk, cornsyrup, suger and a number of chemical flavourings before being blended to a strange tasting orange gloop. Healthy my arse.

After this dissapointment I headed up to the botanical gardens and the small but well stocked Zoo. Its here I see my first Kangaroos, Dingoes, Koalas and Crocs - essential for Oz I think!

After a bus ride back to the hostel, and after retrieving my room keys left on said bus it was time to sample to local cuisine. The Ascot Hotel is rumoured to have the best steaks in Rocky - so I try one. Surf 'n Turf. 400g of steak and some fresh prawns and scallops served on a hot slab of volcanic stone ensuring every mouthful is as hot as the first, and served to your exacting requirements. Perfect after a hard days sight seeing. The bar itself is a pretty local affair with country hits like "mama I want to marry you" filling the jukebox rails, and not a top 40 or classic rock option in sight. Refreshing in a way...

After checking out the bar I went up to the hostel and watched crappy american dramas with a jaded american english guy, a busty and pretty dutch girl who said "shit" instead of "sit", and a group of 5 british guys with all the sophistication of a 400g steak.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb