My Attempt at Street Cred


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rockhampton
January 12th 2010
Published: March 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Kids Read This??Kids Read This??Kids Read This??

I have no pictures of Rockhampton so here is a picture of a book about wombats. Funny and freaky little creatures.
The trip from Airlie to Rockhampton took about 5 hours, blaahhh. We listened to some songs by the comedian Stephen Lynch, which kept me awake and laughing. We were staying at the YHA in Rockhampton, a sleepy town that stretches over a river. Our room was 8 beds/4 bunk beds. Let me just tell you, sharing a room with 5 guys is faaaantastic. No sarcasm there at all...
We played the obligatory game of shithead that night and then walked into town to the Bush Inn because the boys really wanted a steak. Rockhampton is famous for its beef and it is said there is 2 million cows in the area. The menu at Bush Inn was too expensive for me so I decided to walk out into the night to find food. Easier said than done because RockH doesn't have much going on, but I'd seen a Dominos so I walked in that direction over the bridge. Walk took longer than I thought but I was able to get a 6 buck veggie pizza which was worth it. As I sat waiting for my pizza the woman next to me gestured to a girl working and talking to her co-workers behind the counter and said, "For only 13 years old, she talks to the boys pretty well." I replied, "Oh, is that your daughter?" Without answering she exclaimed,"that's quite an accent you've got there!" I told her I was from the States and we got to talking about her daughters job at Dominos and what there was to do in Rockhampton. I could tell she was proud of the little town she lived in and she excitedly told me that the dark river I had just walked over was full to the brim with crocs so I should NEVER swim there. In fact, a shark had gotten in the river with the tide not too long ago and was killed by a croc. THAT'S ONE EPIC BATTLE. I want to see that on film. She ended up offering me a ride back to the Bush Inn which I happily accepted. She had a daughter with her and seemed like harmless mom so I wasn't worried. Walking back by myself probably would have been more sketch. As we got in the car she said to me, "you know, I've never picked up a hitchhiker before!". Interesting, I thought, because I am not a hitchhiker..On the drive back, which only took about 5 min, she gravely explained how some Aussie man had been picking up hitchhikers and killing them. He had decapitated a German girl and now he is in jail. This was exactly what I wanted to hear when I was in a car with a strange lady. We pulled up at the place where my friends had just finished eating and I thanked her, then jumped out of the car. I ate my pizza on the sidewalk, rather than go inside the resturant to eat it, and a man passing by complimented me on my choice of eating spots. The boys came outside ready to send a search party for me and I got reprimended. We all decided to go try and ride the mechanical bull at The Great Western pub but it turned out to be too far to walk so the boys went to another bar and Hannah and I walked home with some English dude named Dave who had somehow latched on to our group. He was traveling the world and didn't have much to say. That's Dave for ya.

Advertisement



11th March 2010

FABA!
Bad ass girl from the States wows them with her Motherlode accent.
14th March 2010

That's Dave for ya.
Hey Hannah, go easy on the Dave's!

Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb