I found Nemo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
August 24th 2008
Published: August 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I went diving yesterday. The diving was great, but getting to/from the dive site was quite an adventure (as was trying to get back up the ladder onto the boat). The wind was blowing like crazy so the ride over and back was reeeeaaallllllllly rough! Several people needed the little brown bags to barf up their breakfast and lunch. Fortunately, I took the 24 hour Dramamine so didn’t lose my lunch, but it was a really uncomfortable ride. I got banged up pretty good while trying to put on my wetsuit, go up down the stairs, getting on the boat, etc. However, once under water, the current wasn’t very strong and the visibility was good. We saw moray eels, lots of sea cucumbers, white tipped reef shark, blue-spotted sting ray, parrot fish, angel fish, anemone fish (including nemo😊, rock fish, giant clams, barramundi, a big potato cod and some others that I need to look up. The water was not too cold, but it was cold once you got out of the water, with the cool wind blowing. After a nice long, warm shower, I had a delish meal of little lamb chops, a sweet potato and salad.

Today I went to the local craft market and then walked around town. It’s overcast and breezy so not great pool or beach weather today. They have some great boutiques and a good gelato place😊. Not sure what the evening holds yet…I may spend some more time on the balcony listening to the birds or watch another dvd. I saw La Misma Luna last night - great movie, but ay what a tear-jerker. Cheers!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



25th August 2008

giant clam?
how giant were the giant clams? freakishly huge? could you have gotten a foot stuck?

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb