Port Douglas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
February 28th 2008
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Port Douglas 28th Feb 2008 - 3rd March 2008



After another adventurous night bus I arrived in Cairns at 6am and got picked up a travel company (jungle tours) at 7.30. I arranged for the tour company to take me from Cairns to Port Douglas and then pick me up the following day to continue the tour from Port Douglas to Cape Tribulation and then after a couple of nights stay in the rainforest drop me back at Port Douglas.

Port Douglas was a very nice peaceful town and given that it was the rainy season there were not a lot of tourists there, which was great as it meant that I had my own room for the first time in over a month! I stayed in Parrotfish lodge and the staff there were lovely and made sure that you were being looked after.

The tour the following day started off with a trip to the rainforest habitat which had a number of different areas where you could go on a rainforest walk, see and stroke koalas, kangaroos and many types of birds. On our way to Cape Tribulation we stopped off at Mossman Gorge and also went on a Daintree river cruise to spot some crocoldiles (we managed to spot 2 and a female protecting her eggs).

Once we arrived in Cape Tribulation we were all dropped off at the accomodation that we had booked. I booked a dorm at the beach house which felt more like a spider house with the amount of HUGE spiders hanging off each off the huts throughout the rainforest. Nonetheless it was an experience to sleep in a hut in the rainforest and shower with spiders and many many types of insects around you.

The following day I headed out to the reef on a boat which was amazing and very very beautiful. We stopped at 2 seperate locations, one in the morning and one in the afternoon to go snorkelling and scuba diving if you wanted to. I opted for the snorkelling option and while I was snorkelling I saw a sea turtle which came up very close to me. Unfortunately I did not have my underwater camera with me at the time so you will have to take my word for that!!

The next day was even more jam packed as I went horse riding in the morning through the rainforest where we were all allowed to trott and canter (amazing) and then I went jungle surfing in the rain in the afternoon. Jungle surfing is an activity where you have a harness and this harness is attached to a zip wire between 2 different trees and you get pulled from one end to the other. There were 5 seperate zip wires and the last one you had to do upside down, which was not as scary as it sounds. The advantage of the jungle surfing was that you got to see the rainforest from a different angle and have a great laugh at the same time!!

That night I headed back to Port Douglas where I rested before the next part of my trip!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb