Week 12 Sharks and things


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
April 30th 2007
Published: April 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dear Blog,

Said goodbye to Owen, who had been an excellent travelling companion for the last few days, made better by the fact that he wasn't a back packer and was a 'real australian'. Took a boat ride out to the great barrier reef in perfect conditions. The sea was very calm and there wasn't a cloud in the sky. As the sinii weren't 100% unblocked, decided not to risk diving, but was looking forward to doing some snorkelling.

There is something slightly freaky about jumping off a boat in the middle of the sea about an hour from land, but once you get used to the idea and see how beautiful the corals are and look in wonder at the beautiful fish and creatures that live in it, you just forget everything else. It really was one of the best things I have done so far. I even saw a reef shark, albeit right on the sea floor about 30 feet below me and wasn't scared which is saying something. Although there was one point where I was swimming into a shoal of tiny bright blue fish, which were being chased by some slightly bigger blue and purple fish which were being chased by some slightly bigger green and blue fish, and I did start to wonder what the hell might be chasing all these fish right in my direction, but thankfully it wasnt a shark but a massive grey fish don't know what it was called, but it was the biggest fish I had ever seen. Spent at least 3 hours in the sea at various sites and met some lovely people on the boat.

Got back to land feeling really chilled and spent a fortune on clothes in a shop back in Port Douglas. Think I am getting in touch with my hippy side (I think big D would be proud).

Went for a mexican meal (getting used to sitting in restaurants on my own now) and ordered so much food that I felt ill afterwards. Had a feeling the refried beans might cause some problems later on and they did.

Met two really sweet english guys who had just finished school and had just arrived in Oz. Had a good laugh over a few beers with them.

Went to bed feeling really bloated.

Love Fogg x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb