Official and Unofficial Paper Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Normanton
August 15th 2014
Published: August 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

The Platform at Normanton Railway StationThe Platform at Normanton Railway StationThe Platform at Normanton Railway Station

The Station was built in 1888 to service the flourishing copper and cattle industries. The Supervising Engineer devised a new system to make it quicker to lat the track and help stop it needing repairs after every flood. The sleepers are hollow based and packed with mud so they don't need ballast, which washes away. Unfortunately, this means that the tracks are smaller and move more so they are less comfortable. At least it can still run in the wet!
Today is very overcast. I am so glad we chose to go to Karumba yesterday. It wouldn’t look so nice today. Barry is having a sleep-in after all the driving. We’re having an easy day with me trying to catch up the blog.

We heard from Brent last night and he mentioned a Centrelink letter that had arrived over a week ago and only had 21 days to be dealt with. Nothing like late notice! Fortunately, although it’s a small town, Normanton has a Centrelink office so we were able to get a copy of the letter printed off and sort out what they wanted.

I bought something for this persistent tickly cough which has been driving me crazy for a few days.

While I’ve been sitting typing up the Blog there has been a non-stop parade of birds. Right now I’m listening to a Bar-Shouldered Dove cuckooing in a tree nearby. I saw him earlier while I was preparing lunch.He is similar to a Peaceful Dove but darker brown and only inhabits the Top End.

Barry went out and finished the business with Centrelink and, on his way back, spotted a lizard with a stripe down
The Stripey Lizard in the Caravan ParkThe Stripey Lizard in the Caravan ParkThe Stripey Lizard in the Caravan Park

Don't know what type of lizard he is but he is quite large. He didn't move when he knew we were looking at him.
his back. I came out to have a look and he was frozen, looking straight at me.


I also went into town to get some cough medicine for the persistent and tickly cough which has plagued me lately. Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem to be working, I’m still having huge coughing fits that end in sneezes and make my eyes water. I wish it would go away!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The GulflanderThe Gulflander
The Gulflander

This train only runs between Normanton and Croydon and is the shortest government owned line. It runs each way once a week, on Wednesday to Croydon and returning on Thursday. It also runs a few tourist trips like the Billy Tea and Damper one we will do tomorrow.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb