Noosa rain - what Noosa rain?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa
December 12th 2011
Published: December 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Another day of glorious sunshine - what is this?! Noosa is bathed in sunshine so I took myself off to explore (and yes, I started to remember places I'd seen from behind the windscreen wipers of the car) and to lounge at the beach.

I've had to move rooms in my backpackers from my little 3 bed to a 6 bed, girlie room complete with straighteners and hairdryer, and decked top to toe in pink. Even the loo brush is pink. One night here will be enough - time to go to Brisbane tomorrow!

I sat on Sunshine beach with my picnic lunch, taking breaks to dive in and out of the sea, with the forceful waves at times knocking me off my feet. Rick, an Aussie claiming to be 50 but realistically nearer to 60 or just severely sun damaged..., decided to help this poor Pommie with an education in the waves. I ran away. He found me, and sat down to have a chat to tell me about his children, a bit more about coastal Australia and the best places to visit. I couldn't get rid of him but eventually he did disappear. Nice to have a chat with people but sometimes you just get the impression that there are other motives....

Back at the backpackers and I can't bear the pink any longer, so it's off to the cinema to watch New Year's Eve for me. A bit of a cheesy film but faced with that or the goon and cheese evening back at the ranch, it was a nobrainer. Armed with popcorn and a frozen coke, I laughed and cried through the film, which is just the kind of movie you should watch hungover on a cold Sunday afternoon. Perfect mind numbing entertainment, which I was grateful for.

And so to tomorrow - and it's Zoo time! Again washed out the last time I was there, Australia Zoo was the home to the legendary Steve Irwin and is now run by his wife and children. Can't wait to go back - at nearly 60 dollars, it's an expensive day but when armed with a mission to buy presents for my nephew, who am I to say no?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb