Recharging in Noosa


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa Heads
January 26th 2015
Published: January 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

2015 may have been less than a month old, but the new year had swooped me up like a hurricane, and I had been riding the storm. All about me was non-stop change and activity. The Australia Day long weekend was an opportunity to take a breath, so I took myself on a chilled out solo retreat to Noosa. I had never been before and heard rave reviews from others. It only took me a few hours to fall in love with the place too.

My accommodation (very nice, but vastly overpriced) was nestled up on the hill on the outskirts of the main street and surrounded by National Park. I arrived on a Friday night after work and went for a wander up the main street, Hastings Street. Being a sucker for sparkly things I fell for the fairy lights in the trees lining the road. The restaurants and bars were lively and buzzing, people were relaxed and friendly and there was a holiday atmosphere. I was already hooked. I quickly found the beach, which was broad and wide, with golden sand which stretched forever or so it seemed. The sound of the waves lapping the shore was the perfect antidote to the chaos back in Sydney.

Waking on Saturday to the sounds of birds was just the tonic I needed. I already felt relaxed and refreshed. Those birds certainly weren't chilling out though. I had been for a run along the beach and the estuary and was relaxing with a coffee in one of the plethora of restaurants when a cheeky little bird hopped on to my table. He was very pretty, with an iridescent blue head, and after a second of two of admiring him I grabbed my phone to take his picture. However before you could say cheese he had grabbed the sugar sachet from the saucer and was back in the trees above me to share the spoils with his friends.

The weather when I first arrived was hot but stormy, so I confess I got a little distracted by the shops in Hastings Street. It's a really groovy little shopping centre which focused, not surprisingly, on things to do with the surf and sun. The weather soon cleared up though and by the afternoon the sun was out.

On the way back up the hill to the hotel I spotted a sign to a lookout. It was only 1.2 kms and I had time before my afternoon activity (well if you can call a facial an 'activity') so I headed that way. I don't know what I was thinking. I had shopping bags in one hand and a coffee in the other, I was wearing an impractical summer dress and flimsy sandals. I know that 1.2kms isn't far away but it was 30 degrees, 85% humidity, and I had momentarily forgotten that lookouts are almost always located at the top of large hills. I headed up in my blissful holiday cloud, all of the practicalities forgotten. It may not have been a long walk but it was straight up - up countless stairs and winding paths, up, up and up! I arrived in a giant sweaty heap, hair stuck to my neck, rivulets of sweat streaking down my face. Once there though, it was I admit, a very good view, and the perfect spot to enjoy the coffee!

The next morning I headed into Noosa National Park. Yes, apart from the beach there is also a National Park right on the doorstep to keep busy with in Noosa (facials and massages aside). There are numerous walking tracks, ranging from 15 minutes to 5 hours. I took the Coastal Track up to Hell's Gate, around 1hrs 15 return. I had been told by locals that koalas are often spotted in the trees, and to be on the look out for dolphins and turtles. The animals were clearly on holiday too, as I didn't see anything. However I thought the views were gorgeous enough on their own.

All too soon, the weekend was over and it was back to Sydney. It had been the perfect weekend though, with beautiful beaches, nature walks, fantastic restaurants and even some retail therapy - Noosa was just what I needed to rest and recharge.



For anyone looking to visit, I can recommend the following:

Locale - a great little restaurant with room at the bar to eat

Rococo - another delicious Italian restaurant

Bistro C - right on the beach, good for breakfast, lunch and dinner

Miss Moneypenny's - bar with great food

Wonderland - good coffee place, as long as you're not in a rush. It's not speedy!

Stephanies Ocean Spa - for pampering, a definite treat place

De Lanty or Uncle George for inexpensive retail therapy.



Now blogging at www.beautycharmadventureonline.com - check it out!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



26th January 2015

Yes this looks like a suitable place for a holiday. We have never been there. Still hot over here which is great as now we are townies water comes out of a tap. Ruby is staying for a few days dropping her off on our way to Auckland for the Karaka sales and Paul Simon and Sting concert on Friday night. If you have a buying order I am sure that Tom would be happy to oblige.
26th January 2015

You should go to Noosa, I think you'd like it. Have fun in Auckland, it sounds like it's going to be great. Hopefully the weather obliges too!
27th January 2015

Great Pictures
Hi Rachael great pictures on the blog, just awesome. Our best regards Kangaroojack
27th January 2015

Thanks! I really loved it in Noosa, very picturesque!
28th January 2015

Recharging.
Hi Rachael... So much enjoyed reading this latest blog. Love the way you can make us feel that we are also there. As usual enjoyed all the photos. Would so much enjoy visiting Noosa National Park. The views look stunning.
28th January 2015

Hi Richard, yes, the National Park is really spectacular and definitely worth a visit. Some really fabulous walks that are very accessible, plus some harder ones if you want them! Also you would love the weather - it was hot and sunny, just perfect!
31st January 2015
Lunch at Bistro C - delicious food, great view.  I could get used to this.

Solo Retreat
Perfect. Recharging the battery is important from time to time and it looks like you selected the perfect location. Thanks for taking us along.
1st February 2015
Lunch at Bistro C - delicious food, great view.  I could get used to this.

I just wish I could've had longer to recharge!

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0957s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb