Boy’s Day/Girl’s Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Moranbah
October 21st 2013
Published: October 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today was the day Tristan had booked Greg in for a mine tour. Unfortunately Joan was unable to take the tour due to her eyesight issues so the boys went to the mine and the girls cooked up a storm while having a good natter.



Boys Goonyella/Riverside mine tour

Tristan had me booked in for a tour of the Riverside processing plant. Site security meant that I could not take a camera, so photos are limited. The first stop was Goonyella where Tristan collected my safety gear. I was already wearing jeans, steel capped boots and a heavy weight long sleeved shirt that I had purposely brought along. To this was added a high visibility vest, “BMA Safe” pad, hard hat, safety goggles, gloves and ear plugs. Now I really looked the part.

The second stop was the Riverside security centre where I received my visitor’s pass, after a phone call was made to somebody senior to confirm that my visit was approved, then I had to sit and watch a site induction video. This was quite serious and dealt with all sorts of things like dealing with large vehicles, how to call in an emergency, what to do if my site guide was injured, and much more.

Finally we arrived at the actual working site and my visitor’s card unlocked the comb security gate so that I could enter. Tristan had to do an automated response test, something everybody does every day. This is when you might get selected for the random drug and alcohol testing – not for either of us today. Before we went any further Tristan told me to get out my “BMA Safe” pad and we worked through a risk assessment of the site tour that we were about to do. Can I slip or trip on anything? Yes. How will this be mitigated? By eyes on the path and using ‘three point contact’. (‘Three point contact’ means always having both hands on the hand rails when negotiating stairs.) In all we identified four hazards. We had to do this as everybody on site has to perform a risk assessment for each new task and we could be stopped by anybody and asked to show our “BMA Safe”. Being caught without this filled out is instant dismissal.

We when up to Tristan’s office and then I was introduced to the site supervisor so that he would know that a visitor was on site. We were asked if I had filled out my “BMA Safe”.

Describing the tour would take far too long, but it was awesome. The processing plant is 13 stories high so we climbed lots of metal grid stairs. I quickly discovered how easy it is to get dirty in this environment and why earplugs were necessary. A bank of six massive vibrating screens each processing 150 tonnes per hour makes a lot of noise.

To my surprise I learnt that high quality metallurgical black coal is shiny. It also contains seams of glassy black material that looks like super dry tar, and that is basically exactly what it is – the very purest coal.

Although I was not able to go for a ride I did get within 30 metres of one of the huge 250 tonne dump trucks. These are 4 stories high with dual tyres that are easily 4 metres high. A “small” 150 tonne dump truck can fit in its tray!

This was a truly memorable site visit and really helped me to get a better appreciation of what Tristan does.



Girl’s Cook and natter

Today was a good exercise in sharing as Zoe and I danced around each other in her very small kitchen; sharing the oven and limited bench space. It is good that we are both willing and able to share.

First up was a trip to the shops to buy a few ingredients. We had decided we would have a birthday dinner for Tristan at our caravan the next night and my job was to make the birthday cake. A black forest cake, no less! Sure! Is there any other for Tristan? Knowing that Rote Grutze is also a favourite I offered to make a raspberry version for dinner to follow the chicken Zoe was making. Good thing I had the recipe for the grutze – the other a packet mix and a bit of adlibbing had to do.

Zoe began the cooking frenzy, getting a sour dough bread mix proving. Into the oven went the chocolate cakes and on the bench sago soaked for the rote grutze. Zoe kneaded the dough again, shaped it and left it to rise. The temperature conditions here are perfect for bread making. The loaf looked perfect as it went into the oven and even better when it came out. Ohhhh, the smell of freshly cooked bread is so good. Then again so is the taste, especially when loaded with smoked salmon, mascarpone and dill. The boys returned just in time to share this.

A very therapeutic half hour was spent as I sieved the cooked raspberries to get rid of the seeds. Soon the grutze was ready and the cake well on its way. Next challenge was where to store these as fridge space was limited and it was obvious the chocolate ganache was going to melt and slide off the cake unless a solution was found. Thank goodness for the car fridge.

Meanwhile Zoe prepared the chicken, slow roasting it for many hours ready for dinner. Together with other roast and steamed veg this dinner was another perfect end of a day. Zoe is a whiz in the kitchen, making lots of tasty dinners and treats for us while we are here.

Amid all this cooking frenzy we did manage to have a good natter. Zoe made calls to real estate agents in Brisbane, Grub (the cat) got
View from the balcony.View from the balcony.View from the balcony.

At night the mine lights can be seen in the distance.
some good attention and Zoe went out for an appointment. It was quite a busy morning. We had lots of fun together and the kitchen got a good work out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



23rd October 2013

The perfect day!!!
The perfect family. Sounds like you guys are having a great time. Tops my final days of George's year 12 hands down. Travel home safe and watch out for any army explosives training on your way. There's bbq'd and then there's Lithgow bbq'd. xoxox

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb