Magnetic Island


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Magnetic Island
September 29th 2008
Published: October 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Magnetic Island


Up at 7 to get on the bus all the way to Townsville. Leyla and I managed to pass the time by sleeping through the entire journey. We got the ferry out to Magnetic Island which I have to say is Heaven - I actually believe Magnetic Island is what Heaven looks like.
Our hostel - base was just gorgeous, like Airlie beach our hostels were small little huts with bunk beds in - but these hostels were clean. The hostel had a big open bar right on the beach. Palm trees which were lit up at night and a little pool to sit round.
Leyla and I walked to the "town" which was one cafe and a supermarket. One thing I will say about Australia so far is that every cafe and every restaurant that we have been to has made a mistake with our order - or everything has been right but brought over to us in a random order. This cafe was no exception. I waited for 20 minutes for my chicken burger, when a lady came over to me and said that they had just realised that they had run out

of burger buns.... I was going to point out that there was a shop next door but instead said that I was happy with sliced bread. Then I was given three dollars back - which I assume was for the cost of the bun... pretty expensive bun. But hey this is Australia and everyone is laid back over here and so I figured I would go with the flow 😊

Leyla and I spent a couple of days doing Sweet FA. I managed to top up my tan and actually went a day without drinking. We were going to head down to the National Park on the Island and go for a walk but we couldn't be bothered to wait for the bus and so sat on our bums for the whole day and took in the beach.

Nice 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb