Been very slack.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mackay
September 26th 2013
Published: September 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Been very slack. Since the attack of the midges I have been very moody and irritable at last count there were 240 bites but now they have broken out on my face and I am trying to refrain from literally tearing myself apart. I can see why the doctors prescribe antidepressants for them. Havent got to that stage yet.On the travel front I forgot to say we went to Townsville. I asked wayne to take me to Palmer street in South Townsville where my mum grew up as a little girl. It was pretty much a low income area then. Now its the street to be in in Townsville. Castle hill rises above everything in Townsville. I have to say I found the place very oppressive.

Mackay was much better we stayed with Waynes long time friend Dave Hastie at Port Binley which is the pretty swank Mackay Harbour Marina complex. Had dinner at the yacht club and watched Dave have fun flirting with the chef and waitresses. They sweeten him up with jelly and ice cream. Had the best oysters I've ever tasted ... big fat delicious Tasmanian oysters.

We then headed off to the Capricorn Caves which I loved and was fascinated by. Really worth a visit. The cathedral cave was a magnificent. Had the whole camping ground to ourselves.

Last night was spent in Byfield National Park. We did a big 4wd trek to Five Rocks Beach. Nearly cooked the motor in the dunes. No recent rain soft sand. Absolutely pristine wilderness. This country is beautiful.

Went out this morning to see the singing ship at Emu Park on the tropic of capricorn. It was singing and its a really great day. The sun is out its cloudless and were on our way to 1770.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb