The Great Escape


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Lady Elliot Island
January 21st 2015
Published: February 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Great Barrier Reef. It is the largest living structure on earth, actually made up of over 2,900 reefs and 900 islands. It is so large as to be visible from the moon. And let me point out that is is not called the Mediocre Barrier Reef, or the Blah Barrier Reef, or the Whatever, I Can Take It Or Leave It Barrier Reef.

It's true that I did spend some time on the reef when I was last in this country. So I thought, not the end of the world if I don't make it to The Reef this time. I have been focusing on seeing and doing different things on this trip, My rellies are all living in different places than 4 years ago, so it has allowed me to explore many new highways and byways. Have walked along several way-more-than-adequate beaches...fed the dolphins...seen non-zoo roos...spent a bizarre morning with my nephew and a lorikeet...dug through heaps of some of the finest rubbish I have ever laid eyes on...with lots more excitement and adventure to come. So just count your blessings girl and stop pining for the reef.

Easier said than done. None of the rellies were up for any reefing and I was feeling a bit too lethargic to rent a car and venture out on my own. But a few hours of surfing (virtually, of course) lead to the realization that I was only a short plane-ride from the southern-most point of the reef: Lady Elliot Island.

The search was on. I found a company offering tours to Lady Elliot alone or packages including other destinations. The only way to access Lady Elliot is by plane and there are tours leaving from several destinations: Brisbane, the Gold Coast, Hervey Bay.......KATCHING! Here I am in Hervey Bay, about 5 minutes from the airport - this is do-able. After much pondering, procrastination and prodding from my brother and his wife.....I picked up the phone and pulled out the credit card. Five days - three on Lady Elliot Island and two on Fraser Island (whatever that is).

Early Tuesday morning my brother drove me the short distance to the airport. Judging by the size of the resort on the island I figured it would not be a large group - hence a smallish plane. My evaluation was close but not spot on. An enthusiastic group of about thirty was gathered for departure...but there were in fact three planes awaiting us. Three very small planes. Each plane had a pre-arranged list of passengers and names were called out. I was part of the tiny group left after two planes had been loaded. It was an eight-seater and nine of us were left. The pilot (a snooty little blond who looked more like a high-school cheerleader) shouted out, "I'll need someone to ride up front with me." I immediately informed her that I was travelling alone so that would not be a problem.





I hesitated a few seconds before hopping into the co-pilot's seat. The steering wheels in cars over here are on the right hand side, soooooo.....is it the same with airplanes? Don't snicker, it's a legitimate question. I pretended to admire the wings of the plane, which bought me some time. Then Betty-Lou headed for the left door and I was able to casually slip into the right side.

I have never been in a small plane before and this was certainly my first time as co-pilot. Just look at all those buttons and levers and dials!!!!!!!!!

I now I should not touch, but.........



I resisted the urge to pull out the manual and start cramming....the "co-pilot" thing was really only honorary...



Did manage one selfie....trying to look serious, focused, but at the same time confident....as a co-pilot should:







I take time away from my duties to admire the view:..................................and there she is.....lovely Lady Elliot



The landing strip is.....well......a field...............................



The island is small - about 45 hectares. I walked around the perimeter in less than 45 minutes. There in one "eco-resort" which is clean and well organized but certainly not luxurious.....people come here for the diving and snorkeling, not for fine cuisine or other 5-star amenities.



My accommodation was an "eco-cabin" which was described like a cross between a room and a tent. It turned out to be a structure with a wood frame and heavy canvas (tent-like) walls, with windows, a door, and even shelves for storage.....all in all, quite satisfactory.............................



Lady Elliot is a coral cay, or a low-elevation sandy island on the surface of a coral reef. So the beach is made up mostly of broken bits of coral.......



.............lovely to look at but a bit rough on the feet. In fact my reef shoes gave out on the first day:

Fortunately, the resort provides reef shoes, as well as snorkeling gear, and I even found a pair to fit my not-so-delicate feet.

The first day's activities included a "guided reef walk" To be perfectly honest, it sounded kind of boring......I had renamed it the "good grief-walk".....but then, I really did not have any idea what a "guided reef walk" was. Never did one before. Well, basically we walked, with a guide, (hence the term "guided") in the water at low tide, so much of the reef was above water, or just barely under. The water is very clear so the reef is quite visible and......it is GORGEOUS. Ok, what we see here is nothing in comparison to what snorkeling has to offer, but I don't have an underwater camera so my snorkeling WOW-pictures live on only in my brain. But here is a bit of reef:

(I am still figuring out how this site works....it seems the pics I insert here in the text cannot be enlarged....so I will leave the bulk of them for the end....scroll down,,,they're there...and those can be enlarged, much nicer.)

After that strenuous reef-walking it was nice to enjoy a local beer and munchies:

This guy seemed to have the same idea........................................yep............



Staying inside, so it seemed, was for the birds, so I brought my beer out and sprawled in one of these chairs (super-comfy) and ..................ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh......







The sky was a bit cloudy but that just added shades and contours as dusk slowly crept in...........











Day two started with a glass-bottomed boat excursion. The water is exceptionally clear and one can see a great deal below: coral reef, fishes of all imaginable colours, manta rays, the odd turtle and yes, we did see one zebra shark. Once again, you are going to have to use your imagination here....did not risk bringing my camera on this water-intensive venture. It seems these sharks are not considered dangerous, because only a short distance away the boat stopped and it was time to jump in for some snorkeling. I was all ready, with mask and snorkeling breathie thingie and flippers and.....just one problem....I am a weak swimmer and am somewhat afraid of water - especially water that is about 20-30 meters deep. But the guide was awesome.....she took my hand and swam backwards until I stopped panicking and could go it alone. There was a rope that one could grap and I did stay close to that life-line. (On the to-do list when I get home: sign up for swimming lessons. Seriously.) It was so incredibly beautiful, unlike anything I have ever seen or experienced. Four and a half years ago I did an assisted dive, in the Whitsundays, farther north on the reef. It was great, but this was even better.

I went back for lunch then headed out again for more snorkeling, this time off the shore. I was still somewhat nervous, but was determined to see more. A family with two young children saw me, could tell I was not entirely confident, and invited me to go along with them. It was very kind of them and once again I was rewarded for over-coming my fears......it is really pointless trying to put it in words. You had to be there.

On day three we were scheduled to leave at 4:00 in the afternoon. So I went for a swim in the morning and then walked around the island which took 45 minutes. Some serious rain came in around noon and I was happy to just sit outside, under an awning, and enjoy the sight, smell and sound of a tropical storm, looking out on the ocean. You really must try it sometime.

Around 2:00 a serious-looking young girl with a clipboard came and asked me if I would be ready to leave at 3:00 instead of 4:00, because, and I quote, "the pilot thinks there may be some bad weather on the way and wants to get out before it turns really bad". I stifled a gasp-slash-sarcastic laugh (looking at the storm crashing around us even as we spoke.....thinking, "some bad weather.....as opposed to.....what????????) and meekly and politely said, "yes, that would not be a problem". I did not see any point in offending the girl - she seemed to be pretty chummy with the pilot and I was about to put my life in his hands for about 35 minutes.

So we all grouped up and boarded the planes at around 3:00. We were only 8 on my plane this time....so I sat back with the rest of the riffraff. The rain was torrential and I was surprised that the flight was not postponed...........................................................good-bye Lady Elliot....

At least the pilot seemed to know what he was doing (did not even see the need for a co-pilot) and also, did NOT look like a cheer-leader. We had to fly very low - between 400 and 500 feet above the sea, which was kind of cool. There was only one period, which lasted about 3 minutes, when I was truly nervous. There was absolutely no visibility whatsoever, and I just kept telling myself: that is why they have all those gauges and dials and monitors and do-hickeys.

So like I said, there are lots more pics below. I will get the hand of this eventually.


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

Lady Elliot IslandLady Elliot Island
Lady Elliot Island

blue Linckia seastar


27th February 2015

Sitting here in frozen north looking at fantastic pictures and reading such a lively comment airy is just so amazing it's so nice that you share your experience in the south with us Hopi you have a great time Joanne
27th February 2015

I am having a great time...glad you enjoy seeing and reading a bit about what I have been doing....it is a privilege to visit a place like this
27th February 2015

Thanks for sharing your great adventure really loved it

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb