Cal's Adventures in Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Kuranda
July 6th 2010
Published: July 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We are back in Australia now. I had SO much fun with my friend Min when we got back. We played in her big backyard, jumped on the trampoline, went for some walks, read stories and did some drawings. Min is an artist like me! We played hide and seek too. Imagine having a game of hide and seek around the whole world! Mum could be the seeker and I'd hide!

We watched the Never Ending Story with Min. I asked Aiden "Why didn't the Ancient One care? Care about the Nothing?" A said "The nothing was actually the Modern World. The huge rock monster would've been transformed into rocks around our world. The Nothing was smaller than him. It was too late when the Nothing swallowed him. So, he should have cared. Atraya was already sucked into the Nothing."

On the drive we visited lots of friends. Our Scout Leader Killara and Byron came to Brisbane so we got to meet them! Usually they live in America. Killara gave us a shirt! Do you know what?! Mum lost the car keys! There was SO many things in the car so it took a long time to find them! I got a bit annoyed at Aiden that day because he didn't share his lemonade with me. 😞

When we got to Cairns Mum said we were going to climb the Pyramid in the first week, so we did! It was a long way up to the top. We took some rest stops and had some snacks on the way. There was one other 6 year old doing the hike too. At the top we had a picnic lunch.

We hung out with Dad lots at the river swinging off the tree at Little Road and doing some kayaking. Mum went away for two weeks. When Dad was looking after us he got the day off work and came to my school. We had a recorder concert and a party for the last day of term. And some yummy food. At night we had the Festival of Lights. It was for the Winter Solstice. We made lanterns at school and put a candle inside when it was dark.

When Dad went to sea, we went to Tanya's. It was the school holidays. We played with Lennon in his cubby house and on his rope swing. He has a good leggo collection too. Tanya and Danny cooked awesome food. We went to YMCA 2 days. We played some games there and made some new friends.

Aiden was telling me about a book character. He said "She's beautiful, dangerous and deadly. Not a good combination!" I asked him "What does that mean? You mean she has nice eyes, she farts a lot, has no head and big claws?" Aiden said "Not exactly...." Aiden's reading me the second Nanny Piggins book and Mum's reading me the second big book of Tashi. They are awesome and Nanny Piggins is SO funny!

It's the dry season now. It still rains sometimes but its lots of sunny days. We go to festivals, the river, the library and to visit our friends. We play soccer after school somedays and we started going to Cassowary Circus. It's heaps of fun and my teacher knows the lady who has the trapeze on the Esplenade so I'm going to learn how to fly on the trapeze! At school I'm learning how to knit.

We're staying in a tent at Cathy and Daryl's place. It's up the road from our house where other people are living now. Cathy and Daryl have a dog called Zeus! He likes licking me in the morning and I say to him "I'm happy to see you too Zeus!!" Kooky the Kookaburra comes for breakfast sometimes. I feed him papaya. I like the papaya that have a star shape inside! I planted an avocado seed and I'm going to grow a new tree for our garden!



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb