The ourback on the seafront!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Karumba
November 15th 2008
Published: November 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

Well, I managed to get 4 days off (horray!) from work to come to Karumba with Sheridan, who I work with, for her 22nd birthday! ...she said I looked like I needed the break from work haha

So anyway, we arrived here on Friday at about 1, checked into the 'gone fishing motel' which is opposite the sunset tavern and on the beach. Its so beautiful here and the beach is lovely but were not allowed in the sea becuase there are too many sharks and crocs! So we spent most of friday afternoon drinking Kaluhula and milk and sitting in the spa (which was rather nice). I managed to amuse Sheridan by nearly getting myself in on a four day fishing trip... I was simply being friendly and walking out of the shop with my ice cream and I say g'day to 4 guys getting a boat ready. They say g'day back and ask do I want to go fishing, of course I say yeah and they say hop on! Luckily I asked if I could bring my friend who is sensible and comes over and asks how long they are going for....4days haha. Sheridan also explained to me that they were probably not planning on doing any fishing and why country auzzie men are quite so friendly- they never see any women! haha, so its fine, im being looked after...

So then yesterday evening we went to the animal bar and again, I needed to remember that these people never see women, so as we walk into the bar some bloke shouts 'Keep your pants on lads!' haha so we had a few drinks there (someone put a $2000 tab on the bar so the drinks were free) and met a bunch of people who took us to a house party. It was pretty amusing and all the old fishermen were falling off their chairs becuase they got too drunk. So after that we all decided to carry on drinking on the beach for a bit and listen to music where we got some good photos and I fell up a step and grazed my knee 😊

I woke up pretty hung over but got straight in the spa with another Kaluha and milk and was instanty refreshed. Then one of the guys who we met the night before took us fishing in his boat! I managed to catch a shark and freaked out when it was on the boat and refused to hold it for a photo haha, other than that we only caught a catfish!

Must dash anyway, Kaluha and milk in the sunset tavern is calling!

Love to everyone and talk to you soon!

From a relaxed and tanned Hayley x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb