The Great Escape


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
December 27th 2014
Published: December 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The gap between my blog entries could mean many things. Perhaps I have not done, or seen, anything blog-worthy for weeks now. Possibly, I have been dashing around in an insane non-stop whirl-wind of extreme experiences, producing such an intense sensorial over-load and delirium as to render me incapable of even attempting to condense it all into a form that could be assimilated by Mere Mortals. Or maybe my computer fell out of the basket during my hot-air balloon ride over Sydney Harbour.........or was swallowed by a shark or a gator.....or was trampled by a stampede of 'roos in a mosh pit.

But I have recovered from my sun-stroke and am back at the keyboard. Rather than try and recap the past few weeks chronologically, I have plucked photos here and there of things that caught my attention...

Wherever I go....there are masses of spectacular flowering trees







Animal life is not limited to what one can observe in the many zoos and wild-life sanctuaries that this country is famous for........I came upon these lorikeets one morning as I was strolling around the neighbourhood:







Not all critters are a welcome sight.....such as a lizard in the bathroom:

.....or the infamous cane toad



Slithery and slimy gave way to furry and cuddly.....an 8-day old border collie at a nearby dog shelter:



A visit to Tin Can Bay gave us the rare opportunity to see, and feed, wild dolphins.......not in an aquarium but in there natural habitat. This dolphin-human interaction started in the 1950's when an injured dolphin beached himself on the sand of a local cafe. The locals fed him and he eventually recovered sufficiently to return to the wild, but continued to visit his new human friends to get a free meal. Today there are at least 4 dolphins that continue the tradition and come regularly to be fed. All feeding is carefully monitored and it is not permitted to touch the dolphins.







I have seen many zoo-roos.....but it's by far more cool to see them just hangin' out in the neighbourhood:






or the backyard

And of course there have been adequate doses of sun, sand and surf. Once the dolphins were fed up, we headed for Rainbow Beach....one of the most spectacular beaches to receive my none-too-delicate footprint:

Where are the crowds? Probably crammed into shopping malls....I'd feel sorry for them....but it's their choice I reckon..........

Rainbow Beach is over 2 hours away from Home Base....so for my day-to-day needs I must be satisfied with this.

yep



Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb