Hervey Bay - Whale Watching - AMAZING


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
October 16th 2012
Published: October 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

OMGOMGOMG

I saw this whale with my own eyes!
Up early again at 5.30 as off whale watching at 6.30. I must admit it was not easy getting up all I wanted to do was turn over and go back to sleep - but Mike made me a cup of rosie lee and that was it I was ready to take on the world- well go whale watching.

So we get on the bus that picks us up from our digs and the first stop is to pick another couple up. Well I have never known a couple who only talked doom and gloom. Everything has gone wrong for them and they were not satisfied with anything about their holiday. So I tried to lighten the mood by saying well at least you would have had a good sleep and now you are going to see some whales - how good is that. The response was "never got a good nights sleep and I bet we do not see any whales". I decided I ws flogging a dead horse so just shut up.

Not long into the boat ride and OMG we saw whales right in front of the boat - typical Paula I was not ready with
How Fab is this!How Fab is this!How Fab is this!

Is a whale - yes a real live whale!
the camera and when I was they had dived, dived, dived. So I was really mad with myself so once they had gone and everyone had moved to another side of the boat - I thought that is it I am going to the front bars and no-one is going to move me. So there I stood with camera in hand and it must have been the whales supermarket run because there was so many of them. They are magnificent creatures and so graceful. I took loads of photos and a couple of videos. The videos are crap as most of the video is of the sea with no whales in - how can anyone video the sea the whales were enormous - I think Jacques Cousteau the filmaker has no worries about me taking his job - mind you I think he is dead - but he still has no competition from me.

We have hired bikes for tomorrow so looking forward to hitting the cycle tracks along the shore. Not sure how Mike is going to cope as he has a bad foot but I am sure he will manage.

So after getting the bikes first thing in the morning we decide to go for a ride - typical Mike and Paula we do not go for a little ride we go for a 20 km ride. Whilst riding what happens to me I get a bleeding coconut falling from a tree and hitting me on the head - when you’re hit on the head are you supposed to get intelligence, if so I missed out again - these old wives tales are really doing my head in as they never work.

Anyway as good old Oz converts we bike along the coast - told you we were now camouflaging into our surroundings and fitting in so no-one knows we are tourists we are doing the good life and being sporty - I must say they have the benefit over us in this respect.

So we find a really nice place to eat and have Kilpatrick oysters and how fab were these and then I have squid - disappointment or what? Mike had fish and chips - his fish looked so good. You know when everyone orders food and you look at what they get and think I wish I had ordered that - well do I need to say more about Mike’s fish!!

We have got back to our little place and yes I must admit I have put some washing in the machine in the wash house - Mike was amused as I realised that what I was wearing needed to go in also so got a towel and covered myself in it and chucked all I was wearing in the washer - mind you ran back to our hut and put some real clothes on, ha ha (no towel for me!!).

Mike did not feel well - too much sun and fish he thinks ha ha. He is really looking forward to seeing his daughter Jenni, Steve and Sophia who he has only seen on Skype or pictures..

We are back on the Greyhound bus and off to Brisbane we go. We pick up a hire car at the airport which seemed ok at the time as we are flying from Brisbane to Sydney so at least we should know where to drop the car off when we fly to Sydney.

Whilst on the bus to Brisbane I notice, and only the Oz’s would do this, they have trivia quizzes on road side road signs to keep you alert.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb