Fraser fun


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
October 20th 2013
Published: November 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Woke up early and caught the bus with Adam and Amy to Hervey Bay as they are going a day early so are not on the same Fraser trip.

There wasn't much to do in Hervey Bay so we sat by the pool while I waited for my Fraser trip meeting and briefing. At the meeting I didn't find out that much it was all a bit vague and rushed! Also no one really chatted to me so I wasn't sure on the groups and who I would be with. Adam and Amy had tried to introduce me to two couples they had met on the bush camp so that I could be in their car group etc but they didn't really make an effort with me and I felt a little like a third wheel or fifth in this case! Also we found out it was only 4 people to a tent so I couldn't share with them so I was starting to worry who I would have to share with!

The guide said we needed to get 3 lunches, 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts and that we could go in groups if we wanted but as I didn't have one yet I had to just organise my own stuff but it probably worked out better because I don't eat that much! The guide to us in trips to the supermarket and bottleshop so that we could buy all the stuff we needed. Then we all got picked up and we had to make lunch for the next day as we were getting up at 5am, I just made all my lunches up as I had rolls for lunch and burgers and rolls for dinner, cereal or rolls for breakfast, a few snacks, and of course a box of goon!

I was still feeling worried about the trip because I hadn't felt like the group had been fun or talkative. I went to pack and put my stuff away and met a guy in my room called Dean he was really chatty and said that he hadn't spoken to me before because he thought I was with the couples!

He had done his shopping with a big group of 8 and some of them were in the same apartment unit as us, but he was nice and invited me down to sit with them while they ate and made lunches etc. I still had to shower etc and was still packing but he came back up to check I was ok and invite me down to sit with them again. So I went down to sit with him and Andy and a few others who were all on the trip!

I had managed to get hot chocolate from the free shelf in the hostel in noosa so I made Andy, dean and myself a hot chocolate, it was mint flavour but was still really good! then we all went to bed but I really struggled to sleep it was so hot in the room plus there was loads of noise outside and I was still feeling apprehensive and excited about the trip!

Woke up at 5am - it was horrible! We all got ready and checked out and put our luggage in storage etc then we had to choose our cars but we had arrived a bit late so there wasn't much choice, dean had said he would come in a car with me so we ended up in a car with a group of girls of all different nationalities. I wasn't sure if I would get on with the group yet and felt bad for dean as there was a space in Andy's car but dean had said he'd go with me!

Our car actually turned out to awesome and everyone got on well!

We drove the cars to the ferry and the ferry was about 40mins to get to Fraser and the whole Fraser group got chatting. When we arrived on Fraser Island the tyre pressure had to be reduced for 4x4 driving. It was not what I had expected at all, it was very extreme off road driving on soft sand dune tracks but the tracks were between rainforest!

We stopped at a beautiful white sand freshwater lake and had some lunch then we got back in the car to drive to another lake, our car was really good and we swapped drivers so that everyone would get a fair go. On the way to the lake we were all talking and it turned out they all thought that dean and I were together, so we joked about it and when we got out at the next lake I joked saying would you like me to bring your towel honey!!

This lake was amazing it was surrounded by bright yellow sand dunes and the water was bright and refreshing it was like an oasis in the middLe of a desert. A few of us went for a walk to the top of the dunes and we could see the sea and saw whales jumping out of the water from a distance.

We had to walk 1km uphill to get back to the cars so everyone was hot and tired and luckily we were driving to our camp.

The camp was on the beach just behind the dunes for protection. We had to pick our tents so dean and I decided to share, also we hadn't hired a sleeping bag as I had a liner and he already had a sleeping bag and he said I could use his liner with mine if I got cold or he would use the liners and I could use his sleeping bag depending how cold it got. We ran round looking for a free tent and two more people to share with and met Andy who said he would come with us and found a tent. Luckily no one else came in with us so we had loads of space with just the three of us!

Our guide Geoff was really cool and said he would play beer pong and drinking games with us!

After cooking dinner we all headed over the dune to the beach where we watched the moon rise from the sea. Before the moon rise the stars were incredible and you could even see the wisps of the milky way! The moon was practically a full moon so was amazing as it rose and was a beautiful orangey colouR.

Then we all went back to camp and played beer pong, we got chatting to Geoff and he said that despite being the largest group he had taken before we actually had a really good group and it was nice to see that everyone was getting on so well!! Andy and Dean were both very drunk from playing too many games of beer pong. I had made a toilet buddy called Rosa who is Dutch but has the best English that everyone thought she was English! We had a really good toilet routine and we would check the area for dingos, snakes, and spiders with the torch light then we would have lights off, then when we were finished we would say lights on and I would turn the torch back on and we would walk back to camp!

The next day everyone woke up feeling a little groggy, we drove to a small shop on the island and then to a place Geoff called 'hangover creek' because it cures your hangover! It was really awesome, definitely one of my favourite places. It is a freshwater creek going into the sea, it is almost like rapids as it fast flowing, it is about waist height most of the way and you walk to a spot in the creek get in, lay down and let it take you to the end! The freshwater was cold and refreshing and we all went down it loads of times! We also chilled on the beach here for a bit as we were waiting for the tide to go out so that we could get the cars through the creek. Whilst we were chilling we saw whales jumping right out of the water here, it was amazing!

after that I drove us all to the ship wreck on the beach and then drove us on to a lunch spot. After lunch we drove to champagne pools where the sea splashes over rocks and creates bubbled in the pools. After this we drove to Indian heads a point on too of a rocky hill sticking out on the east side of the island and saw sea turtles and sharks swimming in the water. We stopped at hangover creek on the way back past to cool down and freshen up! We stopped at a bottle shop on the island just before heading back to camp and Andy and Dean bought some more beers, they gave me one to drink in the car on the way to camp because they were cold.

Back at the camp I noticed that the other camp had moved in just across the dunes from us so I went over to see Adam and Amy!!

We all had dinner and started drinking and playing ring of fire, then we went to see the moonrise again. Then went back to camp and carried on with beer pong etc.

The next morning we packed all our stuff up as it was the last day in the island, then we all drove to a ship for ice cream. Rosa and I got in the back of the car thinking we would be able to relax but it was the worst place to sit.. It was sooo bumpy we did laugh as our sunglasses flew off our faces and my flip flop even landed on me after flying off my foot!! But on a hangover and after an hour or so it was tiring and horrible, we were so thankful to arrive at the lake.

The lake was beautiful with white silica sand which is supposed to clean everything (including teeth!)

Then we drove to a lunch spot, I was no longer in the very back of the car but it was the worst drive of my life.. We had a girl from another car driving as she had not had a chance yet and she was a crazy German girl who couldn't keep the wheel straight and kept veering off to my side and almost hitting trees.. I was very scared for the entire journey!! She even got us stuck and we had to get out and push but it was really hard because the wheels were at a right angle to the tracks so the car wasn't going anywhere.. We had to actually move the steering wheel for her!! After lunch we drove back to the ferry (thankfully another person drove)

On the way back to the hostel in Hervey bay we saw a kangaroo on the side of the road - my first roo sighting!!

Back at the hostel we all checked in and realised we were all in the same units and rooms as before. We all put our names down for the pizza deals where you pay $10 each and they deliver loads of pizzas so you each get around 2! we were all so dirty from the camping and the sand etc so we all queued for the showers and rosa and I got some cold drinks from the machine as a treat to go with our pizza! We decided to just chill as we were very tired from the amazing trip so we asked Andy if we could borrow his laptop to watch a movie and watched law abiding citizen (Gerard butler - yum!) then Andy and Dean joined us and we put on top gun because rosa and dean had never seen it!!! But we all bailed half way through because we were tired but they promised they would finish it on the coach the next day!

Woke up and got ready so that I could check out and say goodbye to Andy rosa and dean, felt quite sad to be leaving them as we had got on really well, we joked we would all meet up and do a Europe road trip together! I had to wait all day for the overnight bus to airlie beach.. Hopefully it wil be better than my other overnight journey! As I had to wait all day in Hervey Bay I decided to have a walk around the town, there really wasn't much there, reminded more of a small american outback town. I went to the beach took a few pictures and then walked back. Adam and Amy arrived back from their trip and then we sat and had more pizza! Then we got ready for the bus and all got in the minibus to the greyhound bus stop to catch the overnight bus.

Fraser Island was definitely heaps of fun!

The photos are not uploading so there are more to follow soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 30


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb