Fraser Island, Queensland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
April 5th 2013
Published: April 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Grace and Mag,

Fraser Island was absolutely amazing and it was really good waether too so it made it extra special. It's a big group trip of about 25 people but I already knew some of the people there from meeting them in Noosa and other places so that was cool too.

On the first day we got up at 6am in the hostel to get a quick overview of what to expect and a safety briefing about driving on sand because who ever was over 21 with a license was going to be driving a 4x4 on the island. We all got the ferry over to the island at 8.30ish. Fraser is the biggest sand island in the world and nothing prepared me for the beauty of it - absolutely stunning! We went to a nice lake for a swim and a subathe then after stopping for lunch we went for a little walk through the bushes to go a find a green lake. When we were walking through the inland we were all instructed to stick together so dingoes wouldn't come too close - there were dingoes everywhere on Fraser. Just before we got to the lake there was a huge area of sand dunes. It looked so cool like you could board over them, down the hills. Some people do I'm sure but we didn't. The lake was indeed very green and felt so fresh and cool to swim in. We went to camp for the evening and to make dinner before dark which was a BBQ. There were no toilets or showers at the camp and the tents didn't have a zip across the bottom but I actually felt fine and totally relaxed. Once it was completely dark I looked up and OMG I have never seen to many stars in my life! There were so so many and it was a completely clear sky...perfect!

I didn't drive on the first day so the second day I committed myself to do it first thing in the morning just incase I chickened out. I thought I was going to be nervous but I wasn't at all. And I was thrown in the deep end a bit because it was quite difficult. The car was going everywhere up rocks, through really soft sand which feels like driving through ice and through the offroad tracks it kept bouncing and making me giggle like I was on a ride. We went to Champagne pools (rock pools that get the waves over the rocks sometimes and create bubbles) and we went to a cliff edge where I saw a wild tiger shark then we went to another lake full of turtles. After, we visited the Maheno shipwreck and learned the history of that which was cool and then before heading back to camp we visited a creek. The water was really cold and was so fun as we just floated down and the current carried us all the way. It was fresh enough to drink - so I did. But I made sure it was upstream of people because...well...ya know...eww. By the end of day 2 the car was known as the 'Jess Express' which I quite liked! hehe

On the third and final day we headed for the beautiful Lake McKenzie. Stayed swimming and sunbathing for a couple of hours then went to a resort near the ferry terminal for a swim in a pool before heading back to the mainland. Overall Fraser Island was so beautiful and such good fun to drive on. Probably the highlight of Australia so far. The people in my group were great too and had a laugh with them, especially in the evenings at camp where we played games and had drinks. Good times xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 62, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1002.6kb