Daintree Rainforest & Cape Tribulation


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cape Tribulation
May 4th 2008
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My first croc...and I don't mean the shoes!My first croc...and I don't mean the shoes!My first croc...and I don't mean the shoes!

A big day in a young woman's life, to see her first croc! Feeling a bit like Dundee himself.
So, the Canadian gals and I rent a car and head off for the day's adventures. (The gals show up late, since they are hung over from the BBQ the night before at their new boss's house...they just started new jobs here in Port Dougie 😊 Doesn't bother me, since I just finished my run on the beach and I now have time to make us a gourmet lunch box for the trip.) So, by the not-so-early hour of 10 am, we are on the road; we plug in the iPod and head north planning to go as far as we can until the road ends.

We hit the beginning of the Daintree rainforest and stop for a pontoon crocodile tour. This is right up my alley!! It is a slow, easy 1-1/2 hour cruise in perfect weather where we just float around and I see my first crocodile in a natural setting! So exciting! We saw about 5 crocs! Babies, 2 & 3 yr olds, males, females and the big kahuna...Scarface! Scarface is about 40-50 years old and fights all the other males out of his territory so he can do all the breeding himself, but it is not
Ladies in nature...Ladies in nature...Ladies in nature...

A "swimming hole" caught our attention!
exactly romantic, since he wants all the women to himself and then just prefers to be a loner. He is about 4 meters long and probably 300 pounds (guessing, since I can't remember what they told me in kilos, but his mid section looked at least double my mid section when I saw him from that angle). You can see the scars on his face and back...I bet he could tell a tale or 2!!

After the wonderful cruise, we're back in the car and take the ferry across to the Cape, where we embark on a short walk to have a picnic in the rainforest. Next stop...homemade ice cream, odd flavors but in a country setting, very nice. Moving on, we get in a heated topic on politics, religion and moral codes and the next thing you know, I am driving way past where we are supposed to! I am on the dirt roads headed for the Aboriginal towns and I'm not exactly in a 4WD as I should be. Whoops! Better get this little wrig turned around!

We quickly find a rugged beach to explore and marvel over it's beauty. Next we hike to a streaming
Interesting trees on beachInteresting trees on beachInteresting trees on beach

Check out those roots!
creek, where we walk the rocks through it leading to a natural swimming hole in this jungle setting...I'm in! And the water is refreshing...woohoo! You can jump from the ropes into the water enclosed in the green tropical trees and the fish are surrounding my legs everywhere....just missed a swimming turtle. Very fun and beautiful. I am quite the nature bug now, so I am loving this.

After all that, it's time for a snack and perhaps a beverage in the flavor of "vino" for me. We find the best tapas & wine bar/restaurant in the middle of the rainforest where we sit outside on the patio and just appreciate the lush greenery surrounding us as we snack & sip. A successful day trip to say the very least..... 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Pontoon Driver..Pontoon Driver..
Pontoon Driver..

A man who knows where to find crocs! And birds...And snakes!
ScarfaceScarface
Scarface

I reckon he's one tough son of a gun!


21st May 2008

nature girls
that is nicce, tell cheri i say hi...
21st May 2008

niicce
what a picture,

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb