Me Laura, queen of jungle!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cape Tribulation
March 2nd 2007
Published: March 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday-
So i decided to see some of the Great Barrier reef from a lot drier climate...that took the form of a bottomless boat and yellow submarine. I went to "green island" to do this. They don't call it GREEN island for nothing u know! the weather was really windy, it was the choppiest boat ride i've ever been on and i was surrounded by puking japanese people! YUCK!
Unfortunately, as the weather was so rubbish, the sea was all murky- therefore reducing visibility of fish and coral. To be honest, i've seen better views of the reef on tv and postcards but hey, at leasst I was there!
It was a pretty little island, weird to have rainforest right next to beach though! but hey, thats queensland!!!!
All in all, i think im DONE with water things! Ive swam in some beautiful seas, gorges, hostel pools etc, i've white-water rafted and had a go at diving... I think now, its time to stay dry!


Thursday- Off to Cape Tribulation!
Its nice to get on a bus full of people who are NOT japanese! 😊 Anyway...we head off to the rainforest, really gorgeous scenic route- rainforest on one side, beach on the other! Did some nice little rainforest walks on the way up then finally arrive.
Thursday night a few of us did a guided "night walk" of the rainforest- to see what WILDLIFE we could encounter! Saw loads of huge spiders, a few lizards, a possum, snake and a little tiny marsupial mouse! Its a bit scary being in the middle of a forest in pitch black! But a cool experience! I like the rainforest, its really humid, but pretty and special!

Friday- today!
This morning i did my jungle surfing! I was all excited...then after the first zip line got really scared for some reason! I have no reason to be scared, i jumped higher out of a plane! Maybe it was something to do with the dangling!?!?! It was really fun though and saw lots of pretty tree canpoys and green stuff!!!

On the way back down to cairns we had a crocodile spotting river cruise on the daintree river! This was lovely and exciting! Crocs are cool, i've decided! 😊

Im heading out of Cairns tomorrow (after getting my hair done :P- WHAT? I AM ON HOLIDAY!). I'm looking forward to seeing what brisbane has to offer! I hope the climate is different- I'm starting to get a bit clogged up with all this humidity! I dont think it will be though as its still queensland! Steve irwin's zoo...here come I! 😊

Bye bye x


Advertisement



3rd March 2007

hair cut?...
watch out cuz ... they may give you a mullet!!

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb