Australia Adventures day 18: Live-aboard day 3


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
August 25th 2014
Published: August 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi there mates,

After a better night of sleeping, I still had a headache and was a little dizzy, so I decided to skip the early morning dive (6:30 am!!) and get myself ready for the second dive at 09:00 am. And again, a turle here!! So great! I called her Jessy Jessy was floating above the reef, eating coral, not bothering that we were looking at her. Also saw some butterfly fish, harlequin sweetlips, long fin emperor and humbug damsels, which are one of my favorite fishes. They are so small, and are black and white striped, they live with min 2 together on one piece of coral and when a diver comes close, one of them comes forward to 'protect' the nest. Love them. The third and last dive, I decided not to do, because I was super cold. But my mom dragged me and my sister along for some snorkling and I was happy she did. One of the dive imstructors put the three of us in a little boat and took us to the middle of the reef for the snorkling. And it was beautiful!! Snorkling was great at this site, because it was so shallow and you could just float above the reef that was less than a meter below you. For divers, this is not possible, so we were in the advance here. And on my last reef experience, I saw another eating green sea turtle. She was beautiful. I called her Nina. And Nina was so cute. She was just eating some coral, but when she saw us, she tried to hide under a rock, a little scared, but when I came closer, she looked at me and I waved her goodbye. Such an amazing experience! After the snorkle and a shower, we got our last amazing salad lunch and got back to the harbour. In the dive shop, we payed everything, got a car, and drove to Port Douglas to our accomodation. Had a great few days with the Pro dive crew on the Great Barrier Reef. Thanks to them!!

Kisses, Rosalinde

Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb