Great Barrier Reef


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
March 7th 2011
Published: March 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Great Barrier Reef!!

Well our week ended with a trip to the Barrier Reef!! The weather at last was fantastic, and we travelled about 40kms on a high speed catamaran to the outer barrier! Although still a bit murky as the result of the recent storms, the scenery was fantastic and the views of the coral were awesome, and so beautiful. Spent the day on a large pontoon, and viewed the fish and coral from a semi- submersable and a glass bottom boat. Richard spent loads of time snorkeling, which was by far the best as you were right in amongst the fish and turtles!! By the end of the day, temptation got the better of me, so I carefully donned the snorkeling gear and with my feet in fins which I kept tight together, entered the reef and swam around like a mermaid!! No movement in my hip at all!!!! It was absolutely fabulous, an experience I would have not missed for the world.

Well now we are packing, ready for Indonesia, I shall be sorry to leave Cairns, we really have enjoyed our unexpected visit, but now look forward to catching up with all the friends back on the Amsterdam tomorrow!

I must say though, I am looking forward to flying Cairns – Hong Kong this afternoon on Cathay Pacific, my favourite airline!!!

Cheers for now, back soon
Love Elaine xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb