I just did a 14,000ft sky dive!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
October 25th 2006
Published: October 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me before take off!Me before take off!Me before take off!

A little nervous!
OH MY GOD!!! I'm on such a high at the moment! I can't believe I just jumped out of a plane at 14,000ft! It was absolutely amazing. I was pretty nervous before and especially on the way up. The views took my mind off it for a bit and the guy who I did my jump with was really funny too so that kept me smiling!

I have a DVD of it and photos so you can share my terror! (only joking!) I did it with three other girls from the tour- Liz, Candy and Jess- all really cool girls- it was lovely to do it with them and know that I wasn't the only one who was completely and utterly petrified!! In fact on the bus on the way there I started a rendition of the song 'at first I was afraid I was petrified...'! It made me laugh anyway!

I think one of the worst bits was signing the forms before we even got kitted up. Putting down my next of kin and reading the disclaimer- I just kept thinking- 'what the hell am I doing!!'. So anyway, I got trained up and tried very hard to
Up we go!Up we go!Up we go!

It's all good!
remember everything I was told to do! When we got to the plane and into the sky the views were amazing. The higher we got the more scared I got- especially when I realised I was going to be the last one to jump!

It was so scary watching everyone else go first but when it was my turn I kind of just took it all in my stride! (no honestly- I did!) I didn't go all the way up there to chicken out and I knew once I was out of the plane the scariest bit would be over. So I just went for it and it was incredible. Freefalling was the best bit- it felt like nothing I can describe. Apart from falling from thousands of feet from an aeroplane!! (which obviously isn't helpful if you've never done it!)

I can't upload the DVD at the moment but the pictures give you a good idea. Unfortunately the force of the wind pulled my top up- how embarassing- and how typical! But the guy put an Eminem soundtrack to it so it's absolutley brilliant. Laura- you will love it! As soon as I find a computer that
OH MY GOD!OH MY GOD!OH MY GOD!

I'm scared now!
recognises DVDs I'll put it on. I am very proud of myself for doing it- it was a big achievement. And the vital question... 'would I do it again?' - HELL YES!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

WOW!WOW!
WOW!

Still a little scared!
Back on land..Back on land..
Back on land..

I DID IT!!!


25th October 2006

One word
AWESOME!
25th October 2006

Aaaaaah!
You are obviously doing your very best to really scare me and......it's working! Well done you are so much braver than me! Though yet another 'wardrobe malfunction'! I'm getting increasingly concerned that we'll see you streaking at the Ashes next on national TV! At least I didn't have to undress to get on TV! Actually that was a near-miss!Keep going for it darling but just try to stay fully clothed next time! All my love Mumxxx
25th October 2006

skydiving
Well done Beccy it looks good and I look forward to seeing the DVD, you look like you are enjoying the trip loads it was definitely a good decision and I must admit I am more than a bit jealous, take care Chris
26th October 2006

Best decision of my life!
Thanks Chris, it was a big decision but one i am incredibly happy I made! I am definitely making the most of all the opporunities I get and will carry on doing so. Hope you're not too jealous- there's still more than enough time for you and Nicki to start saving to come see me- although I guess you might have to put Nicki on a boat rather than a plane!! Take care, Bec
26th October 2006

Sky Diving- yes, stripping- no!!
I guess I am pretty crazy at the moment- I'm not trying to scare you though! I would never strip- especially on national telly. Although I did take part in a coyote ugly dancing competition last night- had to climb up and dance on the bar- got through to the finals!!!! A really great night- see my blog for some funny pics! Don't worry I didn't fall off- (well I nearly did but managed to regain my balance!) lots of love x x x
26th October 2006

Yep!
You have to do it!
26th October 2006

Crazy mamogamma
Your nuts! You cant even get me on a plane yet alone jump out! Im so jealous your in my country!! I want to go and do the fun things your doing! You should swing by NY again on your way back??? Miss you crazy lady
27th October 2006

Hey my little yankie friend!
How you doing?!! Hope you're impressed with all the adventurous things I've been doin! No plans to go home till next summer and then I'm stopping off in Singapore on the way home. You should come out here though- maybe Sydney for New Year?!! Miss you loads too, take care hun x x x

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb