The start of my East Coast Adventure


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
August 14th 2006
Published: August 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, after 4 weeks of Melbourne I sadly left Mick behind and flew up to the North East of Austraila to begin my trek down the East Coast. I found it really difficult being alone again after such a long time of not having to think about EVERYTHING for myself! It took me a couple of days to snap out of my sorry state but I soon befriended a nice candian girl who I hung out with for a couple of days. We visited the botanical gardens on the second day which was a nice trip out, but a little boring! I then booked a day tour on a sail boat to experience the wonders below the water in the Great Barrier Reef! I was alone surrounded by 70% french people (one of whom was an old man in lycra leopard print speedos who took a liking to me unfortunately!) and couples, the sky was thick with cloud and the water was freezing! Still, the reef was beautiful, and having spent the night prior to the tour at a "Reef Teach" lecture run by the craziest Irish man on the planet, and infamous to backpackers, I was able to name a good percentage of the fish and coral I was looking at! I hired an underwater camera for the event (as only I would!) and took some photos of the water wonderland (pics will be uploaded as soon as poss!).

I decided to book the greyhound down to Townsville after 4 nights in Cairns. There isn't anything but a mountain, shops and an aquarium there but it is the gateway to Magnetic Island. I met a nice couple from England who reminded me of Kate and Nick actually. They met when they were 18 and are now 26 and still together, living together. We all got the ferry over to the Island but were staying on different resorts. I stayed in Bungalow Bay, 4 mins from the beach. It was a really basic hostel but the dorms are bungalows in the bush! I had a stroll along Horshoe bay with an Irish girl in my dorm who is also travelling alone. It was really nice to hear opinons that relate to my own with regards to travelling alone and it made me feel less of an idiot for feeling the way I have been recently!

My next mini adventure was a tour through the wildlife sanctuary where I got to hold a python, a crocodile, a blu tounged lizard and a Koala bear! The Koala was so cute and I got some photos with him. After that we were taken on a bush walk where I was asked to eat a green ant's bum as it tastes of Lemon! As if I was gonna do that! I did feel a little bit pathetic however when a willing 10 yr old girl ate two! YUK. After that was bird feeding which I was reluctant to go to but it was just happening where I was sitting so I thought I'd stick around. It actually turned into one of the craziest experiences ever. The tour leader handed me some mushy bird food and all of a sudden these amazing rainbow coloured birds started flying at me. I had them all over my arms, feet, shoulders and even on my head! It was hilairious.

The next morning, me, myself and I went for a little walk to Balding Bay. THis actually turned into a bit of a hike actually. After taking my life virtually into my own hands by climbing across massive boulders (I was assured this would lead me to the beach!)...I found myself at the same beach I'd walked along the previous day which is at the end of my road! Not impressed I continued along in search of the right trail. I came across 2 men with a map who were also looking for the same place. Eventually, after climbing over boulders and up and over the headland, we found the beach. The Nudest beach! Uh huh. Lots of naked people walking around, but it was pretty so I decided to join them! Not in removing my clothes of course, but I set up camp in a secluded area and relaxed with my ipod in the sun. Later on I saw the two men I'd hiked up with walk past...NAKED! It only then occured to me that in fact these two men were GAY!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb