The end of Australia : (


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
May 27th 2006
Published: May 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fraser Island 4x4'inFraser Island 4x4'inFraser Island 4x4'in

Its actually a lot harder than you'd think to drive on sand without killing a car full of people...
Hello again children, this week in Ians Blog we will be reading about Fraser Island, Goats, and not having Salmonella any more. I dont have Salmonella any more, went to Fraser Island, and grabbed a goat by the horns while a Portugeeser grabbed its legs, and a German milked it, and drank the milk.

I have just arrived in Cairns, and went on a big night out with the guys off my bus, quite good, but I dont actually know any of them, so its hard to have a proper night out if you get me?!?!? Today Im going to look around, and go to the gym - theres a free gym in the hostel, and I havent been for about 7 months, last time I tried in Queenstown, I was so tired from walking up the stairs to the front door, that I didnt bother going in, but this time there is a lift 😊

If anyone is coming over to Australia, I recommend you spend at least 3 months doing the east coast, 6 weeks is no where near enough, also bring millions of pounds, as everything here costs a fortune, and dont go anywhere near any
Me + Goats = rubbishMe + Goats = rubbishMe + Goats = rubbish

Heres me attempting and failing to catch a goat...
busses that have Oz Experience written on the side, they are a pile of poo, Greyhound or drive! Also there is several thousand sqKm of Oz I didnt even get near.

We went over to Fraser Island a few days back, it was great fun booting it around huge sand dunes in a top heavy 4x4, flying through puddles and having no control what so ever over the steering when you get caught in sand tracks, I got to do half the driving too as there werent many people old/sober enough to drive on our car.
It was really fun, but we had a mixed group including an Aussie alcoholic that was an arse hole, out of 15 of us, about 12 of them didnt get on with each other, which made for some interesting camp site fun. Luckily, Vanessa (Swiss) and Thilo (German goat abuser) from my bus were also there, so I had some sanity.

There was also the strangest/best beach Ive ever seen, by the side of a crystal clear fresh water lake - Lake McKensie (probably spelt wrong), but it was amazing, we even left the north of the Island early so we could
Big thingsBig thingsBig things

Here is the big mango, one of 120 big things in Oz, personally I think it was better than the big spider, and big snake I also saw that day. And dont get me started on the big gum boot, 7.9 meters, what a waste of $90,000. "Tully, its a pretty wet place"
come back down to see it again before we left. If it only had waves for surfing...

After the Island we headed in to Kroombit, right in the bush, a huge goat ranch where we got to lasso goats - the fake goats from practice were easy, but the real ones were impossible, and it was dark. We also got to milk them for some reason, and crack whips, and get on the mechanical bull - aka punch yourself over and over again in the special area. I lasted three heavy blows before I thought, "What the hell am I doing!?!?!" and I jumped off. I couldnt walk for about an hour, it was quite funny seeing about 20 blokes sitting around a camp fire unable to walk though.
Vanessa lasted 25 bull bucks before she fell off, and she caught a goat with the lasso in 2 seconds flat, bit embarrassing.

Anyway, Ive got no money left, so Ill have to leave, there should be pictures with this by the time you read it, check out some of the previous blogs too if you havent seen many pics, as I have added loads.

See you soon
CrocCrocCroc

Also saw a Croc farm the other day, look at the size of this fucker, Im glad there was a open chain link gate, and about 2 metres between me and him...
guys, only 2 months left now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Stupid MonkeyStupid Monkey
Stupid Monkey

Look at the stupid version of Coco Pops they have on this side of the world, please tell me that this hasnt happened to Coco the monkey back home, or I will never return.Its like they just dont care...


29th May 2006

scary monkey...
man that monkey is so scary! I really hope that's not happened at home too! Glad you got the $20...look forward to drinks in London then! take care Lucy -x-
31st May 2006

i brought that in
They can fuck off if they think i'm going to accept that as a monkey. it hasnt come over here yet, thank monkeys. I cant see that guy winning the coco world cup. On a more serious note, i think you better tell derek to go summer ball. Everyone else has. Oh yeah, enfield got hit by an asteroid and doesn't exist anymore.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb