The Great DEAD Barrier Reef???


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
July 2nd 2005
Published: July 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The only fish worth a photoThe only fish worth a photoThe only fish worth a photo

In my little visit to the great dead barrier reef
After a way-too-early early morning flight (with a Jewish French couple on their honeymoon sitting next to me - we had a really very interesting conversation about Israel, France, antisemitism, media and more), I arrived to Cairns. I was tired and just wanted to go to sleep, but after a short nap I went to town and spoiled myself with a great salad in a cafe. Cairns offers plenty of temptations and I so I spent the day shopping around for tours, reading my Rough Guide and planning the next days. In the evening I went downtown again with some guys from the hostel and had too much beer, as we started drinking from 7PM with our early dinner... that's the East Coast for you...

On Saturday I paid my debt to the Great Barrier Reef and took a boat tour to the Green Island where I boarded a "semi-submersible" boat - a hi tech version of a glass bottom boat, where you sit in the lowered compartment under the water level and see the fish from close look. Unfortunately, the reef at this area is totally ruined, destroyed by too many boats like that, snorkeling, diving, whatever (and I hear it's not better elsewhere here). I was really disappointed. I saw so much more beautiful fish in other places even in underwater observatories that are not moving. The island itself is a way too developed resort with tiny beached packed with people, a place that makes me want to run away from it the second I see it. I was so glad that I booked only a half day tour and I was so happy to be back in Cairns. I know I am doing a great injustice to the reef because I don't go diving or snorkeling in a better location, but right now I am disappointed that I didn't see much of Ningaloo reef of the west coast and it seems I am done with reef experiences here.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb