G’Day Mate from Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Northern Beaches
December 14th 2011
Published: December 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As we left Thailand, bound for Australia, I could barely contain my excitement! I was at last on my way to Australia! My brother Rodd has lived in Australia for 25 years and all this time I dreamt of visiting him here. This is a dream come true for me! The most beautiful site of this trip so far, was Rodd and my nieces, Clare and Jody, waiting for our arrival at the Melbourne airport. BEAUTIFUL!!!!

My brother Rodd is an excellent organizer, spreadsheets and all. After a day to relax, do laundry, recover from jet lag and a bit of the sniffles, we boarded another plane with the whole gang bound for Cairns, Queensland in northeastern Australia. We were heading back to the heat and humidity, this time with all the comforts of home. Rodd arranged a 4-bedroom apartment, complete with washer/dryer, two bathrooms, a full service kitchen, three swimming pools and incredible ocean views. I do believe, he booked us into paradise. The only challenge we faced was squeezing 6 people, 4 large suitcases and various other bags into a 7 passenger SUV. Mission accomplished with Clare(19) and Jody (17) in the back bumper seat and 3 large suitcases in the front seat. Could this be another National Lampoon’s Vacation…. The Griswalds go to Cairns? Alas… this was truly our only major challenge.

Angsana Resort in Palm Cove, a sleepy little tourist town, was lovely. Most mornings we would get up early and go for a walk on the beach before the heat hit, and then cool off in the pool before breakfast. This morning, our last, we even jumped into the ocean to cool off. After a quick breakfast, we head for the pool to swim and play in the water, read, or just relax and bask in the heat. It was just to hot and humid for much else. One morning Lucas went out alone and came face to face with two Kangaroos. Unfortunately, there was no camera with him on the excursion, so no proof.

Having the kitchen was a real blessing! Lucas and I were able to jump back into cooking and took turns with Rodd and Joanne coming up with tasty home cooked fare. We did venture out to the Palm Cove strip a couple of evenings to try out the local restaurants. No family gathering in Australia would be complete without Aussie wines and we enjoyed plenty! This was greatly appreciated after a relatively dry time in Thailand.

The area is a tropical paradise. Palm trees, birds, butterflies, bugs and lizards, colours galore, amazing sunrises, and moonrises from our balcony, all of which were appreciated. I have to say, the thing that stands out most for me is the time with my family.

What a huge blessing to once again spend time with my brother Rodd and sister-in-law Joanne. Rodd is the consummate comedian. Slapstick that is! I wish I could describe for you what it is like to watch him “jog” from one end of the swimming pool to the next. Hilarious! He is also a fantastic father! I love to watch him with his daughters. Clare said that her Mom and Dad are the envy of all her friends. I can see why. Joanne is the perfect Mother, loving, organized and on top of everything. She also has a lovely wacky side. But then one would have to be at least slightly wacky to be married to my brother. Actually it is hard to know who is the straight man when they get going. Needless to say we spend a lot of time laughing.

Then there are my nieces Clare and Jody. This is really the first time that I’ve spent an extended period of time with them. They are beautiful from the inside out! Clare is sensible and mature, with a natural wisdom about her. But don’t kid yourself, this girl knows how to have fun! She has a bright and cheery disposition; quick to laugh at all of our jokes (even the bad ones) and completely able to throw her own screwballs when appropriate. Jody is a typical 17 year-old girl in many ways. Still, this girl knows her own mind and she is not afraid to share it. She sees all of it and it doesn’t take long for her to assess a situation and know what’s coming. She is smart and gorgeous; a dynamite combination. At the same time she has a lovely, playful side and holds her own in this slapstick family. The thing I admire most about these two independent young women is the way they love and honour their parents. Absolutely inspiring!

Before I came here I was under the impression that they spoke English in Australia. Even here “it’s all Spanish to me!” There is no such thing as a long vowel in Australia. It isn’t a tomato, it is a tomahta. And then there are bathers (swimsuits), bottle shops (liquor stores), trolleys (shopping carts) and chemists (pharmacies). Oh well, when in Rome…..

‘Til next time!

Lucas and Cheryl



Scroll down for more photos


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



14th December 2011

My family
Hi all: This is the first time I have seen photos of my nephew Rodd, and his lovely wife and children. Hard to imagine that I haven't seen Rodd for over 30 years and that is just terrible. I sincerely hope someday (not too far in the future) your whole family will come and visit to Las Vegas. Not as exciting and beautiful as Australia, but still pretty good. Rodd has never met my son, Ron, his wife Elaine and son Ryan. Besides my other grandson Michael (Susan's boy) who lives in Windsor, Ontario, Canada. He presently is going to college in London, Ontario for audio and Sound. Wild for music as well as Ryan, also wild for music. Ryan has his own band, but he is only 14, so who knows what will be! I remember Rodd visiting me many years ago and perhaps promising to build me a fireplace? Is that right or do I have the wrong nephew? Times are a passing and memories are a fading. How about some pictures of your lovely family and don't forget you have a loving Aunt in Las Vegas. I love you all, perhaps you could send me e-mails about all of you. Take care Phyllis
15th December 2011

beautiful
thanks for sharing Cheryl, I don't think your smile could get any bigger. I love your writing, I felt like I wanted to be there too. The girls could keep the loving peek into how you see them for their portfolio. Keep havin fun you 2, it looks good on you . with love and de light Cheryl

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 17; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0871s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb