Aussie Halloween


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
October 31st 2012
Published: November 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Baby PuddingBaby PuddingBaby Pudding

Bella as a Christmas pudding
Before I came to Australia I was pretty disappointed to hear that Halloween isn’t celebrated. It’s always one of the most memorable weekends and I knew I’d be so bummed to see everyone’s pictures on Facebook. I was pleasantly surprised when we first moved into our homestay because my host parents said that they throw a Halloween party every year for their host students!

On Friday when we got home from Carnarvon the kitchen smelled amazing! Jacqui had been cooking all day for the party and everything she makes is always delicious. The next day, Alexa and I went to Carindale Mall with our host sister, Fran, to pick up candy and ingredients for ice cream cake. When we got home Jacqui was making desserts and we helped her a bit while we were making our ice cream cake. I’m not exaggerating at all when I say that her pies are the best I’ve ever had. She made pecan and pumpkin for the party, at my request.

I couldn’t go without a costume for Halloween but definitely didn’t have extra money to buy one. I Skyped with Claire earlier that day and went with her suggestion: Aussie park ranger!
Baking with JacquiBaking with JacquiBaking with Jacqui

Jacqui showed Alexa and me how to make whipped cream for our cake
Fran’s one-year-old daughter was a Christmas pudding and she was sooo adorable. Apparently children dress up for Christmas here so there were plenty of Santa and elf costumes at Carindale but no pumpkins or bumblebees. Weird, but still cute.

Almost everyone came to the party in costume! They were all homemade too so there were a couple togas and hippies but my friend Matt by far had the best costume. He dressed up as John Hall, our terrestrial professor. It was spot on with the wig, hat, leaf accessories and over-sized, untucked clothes.

The party was a success and real Halloween was even better! The Royal Exchange, a really fun bar/club, threw a Halloween party. It was perfect timing too because we had our last final exam that day and wanted to celebrate! Alexa and I got there around 10:30 and there must have already been over 250 people in line. No joke. It wrapped all the way around the block and seriously went on forever. We had no intentions of waiting in that line so we flirted with some boys towards the front and joined the line with them. Some other girls that we know didn’t get
Ice cream cakeIce cream cakeIce cream cake

Alexa and I made ice cream cake for the party
in because the line was so long so I’m glad that it worked out for us!

After the party we went outside for a bit. In typical Halloween fashion, there were people everywhere in the streets and it was so chaotic. It was fun to see the American tradition in Australia but unfortunately for me they also learned about EGGING. That’s right...I got egged. If I didn’t have a few drinks in me I probably would have been really upset but I actually thought it was pretty funny. It wasn’t all that messy and makes for a funny story.

The day after Halloween was the Farewell dinner at UQ. Our professors said a few words about how great the semester was and we were served a really nice dinner with drinks. Now I’m off to Sydney for the start of our 10-day break before NZ!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

PiesPies
Pies

YUM
Matt as John HallMatt as John Hall
Matt as John Hall

This is EXACTLY what our professor looks like
Farewell dinnerFarewell dinner
Farewell dinner

The HWS/UC group and our professors
The girls before dinnerThe girls before dinner
The girls before dinner

My best friends (Bird, Melissa, Alexa, me, Leah) that I'm traveling with on the break!!


4th November 2012

THANX FOR THE SHOUTOUT!
wait bella looks hilarious i had no idea what she was supposed to be when i saw pics. but now i get it, she looks exactly like a christmas pudding!!!!!!!! DUH. love ya.
4th November 2012
Matt as John Hall

HAHAHAH BELLA
omg laughing so hard. look at bella on the bottom of the pic. she's scootin around! she loves it!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb