Scuba Diving on Easter Weekend


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 13th 2009
Published: April 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I went on my second set of dives in Australia with my Australian roommate Brett. These two boat dives were his last to become certified so I jumped on the boat with them. It was a lot of fun. We had to be at the dive shop at 5am, so it was a very LOONG day. When we arrived at the site to get on the boat it began to rain, it stopped a little bit when we got on the boat but regardless we were wet all day because when we ended our dives it began to rain again.
We took about an hour and a half boat ride out to the site called Shag Rock. We suited up and went for our first dive. Admittedly, the first place that Whitney and I went diving was a little prettier but the visibility was wonderful and there was A LOT to see. On the first dive I saw two turtles and many beautiful fish and coral. After about an hour we ascended so we could change our tanks and get ready for our second dive. Many of the others on the boat saw a bamboo shark on the first dive so I was excited for the second dive because there was a good chance that I would get to see one of these sharks. The second dive was just as wonderful as the first, in the beginning. I saw more turtles and a ray along with many beautiful fish and the largest puffed I'd ever seen, it was gigantic. I also got to see my first SHARK! It was laying on the bottom between many rocks, we're still not sure what kind of shark it was but we've decided it was either a bamboo shark or a leopard shark. It was so exciting getting to "swim" with a real shark. Shortly after I got separated from my buddies and had to surface away from the boat and the driver had to come and pick me up but all was well in the end and everyone is safe. All in all it was a wonderful day of diving and Brett and I plan on taking the Advanced Dive Training course in June. I can't wait!!

Advertisement



14th April 2009

Sounds like you had a great time. So glad you had a great Easter Dive
1st May 2009

wow!
advanced diving course?! fun!! I want to come back...

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb