Birthday Week


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 28th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Good Morning!Good Morning!Good Morning!

Hello, Nell, Casey and Katy! It's still early...
Happy 21st to me! I refuse to believe it; it seems so strange! In Australia, you have big 16th birthdays (you get your permit), 18th (you are legal to drink) and 21st (they say it's because it's your last big chance to have a party...). My 21st was really quite nice, thanks to my friends. ^__^

I had an early morning phone call from Grandma and Grandpa, which was a lovely way to wake up. I was tickled to hear from them! I was later woken up by the usual phone call by Jon at 7 AM, only to have my door knocked on 30 minutes later. I was bombarded by balloons and 'Happy Birthday!' at 7:30 in the morning by Nell, Katy and Casey. They bought me a fantastic suitcase (it's got ladybugs all over it! Super cute and one you'll never not spot on the carousel), Possum Magic (a beautiful story!), a postcard of Miniwater (Casey's beach), and a Kangaroo bookmark. I was then taken for a walk down to the campus lakes, where Trent had been busy cutting up lots of fresh fruit and setting up for a birthday breakfast. There were croissants, cereal, lots of lovely
Balloon-ed!Balloon-ed!Balloon-ed!

Lots of balloons and a lovely suitcase on my floor. ^__^
fresh fruit, Milo (powdered chocolate, think Nesquick or Ovaltine but better), fruit juice and more lovely food. It was soooo good. I completely pigged out on fruit, a rarity in IH dining halls. It was fantastically delicious! After eating, we went for a walk around the lakes, watching the birds and lizards and feeding them bits of pear that we simply couldn't eat because we were too full.

I then went off to a long day of classes. I had my usual Monday load, but had to make up a genetics lab as well. It was a fairly easy lab, and even got done slightly early. It was a long day, and I went back to IH tired and slightly sad, missing the family . I had a talk with Katy and felt much better, and spent the rest of the evening successfully not working but relaxing and chatting with my friends.

The rest of the week was busy, as I worked on a paper for religion, a paper for art, writing a lab report for MARS and a mini-essay for philosophy. Whew! It was a long week...

Bandfest, IH's big fundraiser, was on Friday night. I
Kidnapped!Kidnapped!Kidnapped!

Off for an andventure
went to go watch Casey, our band's drummer, play. It was too many people, too much drink and way too loud for me, but it was fun to see people I knew playing music for IH. After IH played at Bandfest, I went with Nell and Katy down to Southbank to look at the paper lanterns set up for Buddha's birthday. It was really lovely; the lanterns were really magical, and lots of the things were still up from earlier that day. It was quite lovely! Anyone who's in Brissy at this time next year should go for a look--it's lovely.

Back to crash, and off to Casey's house in Grafton, NSW, tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Close your eyes...Close your eyes...
Close your eyes...

Follow me, and watch out for the roots..
The master fruit-chopper has cut his fingerThe master fruit-chopper has cut his finger
The master fruit-chopper has cut his finger

Nell observing Trent putting on a band-aid
MmmMmm
Mmm

Brekkie! Yum yum.


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb