Brisbane, Byron, and back home


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
October 8th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The last supperThe last supperThe last supper

The last night in Bris Vagas
Am back in the UK and missing Melbourne. And Oz generally. Would like to be on Brunswick street drinking coffee right now.

The flight home was ok, from Hong Kong onwards I had two seats which was fab. Arrived in Hong Kong early in the morn and went to freshen up. Put my huge bag in the sink to sort all my stuff out and in my half asleep, blury eyed state didn’t notice that the automatic taps were filling up the sink. My bag, acting as a plug meant I nearly flooded the toilets. My ipod is no more, you can actually see the water in the screen! Great, that means I am on to Ipod number seven, at least. Miraculously my phone and camera are fine, thank god. Spent an hour stood under the hand dryer trying to save my new book and rest of my soaking wet stuff - accompanied by strange looks from a variety of people.

There is so much I haven’t yet written about. As I sit and think over the last few weeks there have been so many highlights. Byron Bay - which I haven’t mentioned yet, was amazing. I had the
Byron BayByron BayByron Bay

Ahh, the rav
best breakfast there, looking out over the bay in the sun, eating amazing food, drinking coffee and reminiscing about the trip with Gerard. We escaped the rest of the group after a full on ocker aussie night in Brisbane, and a frantic search for a car - seems like every one was hired out, who knew it was bank holiday! But Brisbane was a fab night, Bris Vagas was ok.

We eventually managed to hire a cool Rav 4 and drove down to Byron, going through the same toll gate about 4 times. The lady there - recognising us as lost tourists let us back through for free labelling us as ‘lost’ on our ticket! Very amusing. In our defence, it’s easy to get lost when you are on the road you know will get you there and it ends because it’s not built yet - how often do you reach the end of a motorway not realising it’s only half built? Oh Oz.

My last week in Oz was fab, St Kilda, lovely place despite the gale force winds I encountered - well it felt like that anyway. Apparently all Brits want to live in St Kilda, something my aussie friends found hilarious when I said I loved it there, amazing views from the right apartment.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb