#50 Teaching at Taizhou Teachers College-Holiday in Oz- Beautiful Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Alison,Maggie& FreyaAlison,Maggie& FreyaAlison,Maggie& Freya

My good friend Alison with her daughters Maggie (right) and Freya (left) at their lovely old Queenslander house where I house sat for a few days.
Brisbane is a lovely sub-tropical city about an hour or so north of the Gold Coast. It is the capital city of Queensland, my home state. I went to school and University there and lived there a large part of my life. Even though it was so close, I only managed to find time to spend a few days there on this trip. The main purpose was to house-sit for my good friend Alison who was travelling to the USA for a special workshop.
While there I managed to look up a number of my friends. I was especially lucky to catch up with my schoolmate Sandie, who happened to be in town (from Cairns-2000km away) to celebrate her daughter Beth’s 21st birthday.

So here’s a glimpse of my Brisbane buddies and the beautiful Brisbane River.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Ross & SandieRoss & Sandie
Ross & Sandie

My good friends Ross and Sandie. We were classmates throughout high school. Ross and Sandie have known each other since primary school.
Sue & SandieSue & Sandie
Sue & Sandie

Iwas really lucky to catch up with Sandie as she now lives in Cairns (North Queensland). We have only reconnected with each other for the last few years after a 30year reunion of our senior year!
View of Story BridgeView of Story Bridge
View of Story Bridge

This is one of several bridges spanning the Brisbane River. This is the view from the new apartment of my good friends Barry & Jane. How lucky are they?
Old & NewOld & New
Old & New

One of the few remaining old cathedrals in the centre of Brisbane is dwarfed by the ever increasing size of surrounding skyscrapers!
Sky High!Sky High!
Sky High!

My friends Barry & Jane live on the 42nd floor of this building, these are the remaining floors above them!
Brisbane RiverBrisbane River
Brisbane River

Yet another magnificent view from Barry & Jane's apartment. Nothing better than to sit back, relax, enjoy some yummy snacks and a good Aussie red wine on a late summer afternoon with good company and a view!
Jane & BazJane & Baz
Jane & Baz

The happy "newly weds". My good friends Barry (Baz) & Jane were married last year in September. I was sad to miss it (I was in China). It sounded like a very special affair.
The Thinker?The Thinker?
The Thinker?

Baz hams it up for the camera! East meets west?
Bayside BuddiesBayside Buddies
Bayside Buddies

A number of my Brisbane friends belong to one of a number of hashing groups (social running/jogging/walking clubs). Here are ex-Gms (presidents) of the Bayside Hash at a commemmorative run on the banks of the Brisbane River.


6th June 2007

To Ms.Sue
So beautiful,I like these photos very much.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.045s; cc: 11; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb