Bon Voyage


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
February 12th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well this is my first of what will likely be many travel blog entries and to be honest I am a little unfamiliar with this form of writing. It has taken me three weeks of procrastinating about what I should be writing, so I hope its gets a bit easier.

The journey begins in Brisbane, Australia and 24 hours out from starting the trip I still had not started packing my bags, however the pages of 'things to do' had mostly been crossed off. Packing my backpack was easy, as I had managed to reduce my possessions over the last few months to almost nothing. Most of the packing began around midnight on the night prior until about 2:30am then recommencing at 5:00am to strike the final lines off my lists. By the time I had finished there was barely enough time for a shower, let along breakfast - that would have to wait until I got to the airport.

It wasn’t until a quick photo with my parents that the enormity of the unknown started to become apparent. I really had little idea where my travels would take me over the next couple of months and knew that the friends and family which I had come to rely upon would be not be there. My life for the next couple of months was contained within a backpack weighing only 17 kilograms and filled with mostly things I cared little about.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb