Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 14th 2018
Published: March 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Once I had settled into my hostel in Brisbane, I went out for dinner with Aisling and Danielle and some of their friends. They insisted on the River Bar, which had a lovely view on one of Brisbane's famous bridges and amazing food. Afterwards, we went to a bar called Brooklyn and they had the best band there! It was upbeat, a lot of the songs were Spanish and they were so talented that all I could do was watch them in complete awe. Later we went to another place to meet CĂ©line, Chiara and Malin, and overall I can say that I had a great night out with all of them!

The next day, Malin had invited me to stroll through the city and take the free ferry, and I met Julia and Rahel. It was raining most of the time, but we saw a lot of the city, learned a lot about Australian wildlife at the Queensland museum and at lunch I had the best chicken avocado wrap in the history of wraps.
After an early night, I met Marie and her friends Mili and Clara. Her friends only had 1 day in Brisbane, so they made a plan to see most of it and I joined them. After the art museum, Julia joined us in the botanical gardens and we went on to see most of the city highlights. After a drink in the bar next to our hostel and discussing the lyrics of Despacito (Mili and Clara are from Argentina), we called it a night.

Despite the clouds the next day, Marie and I were determined to go to the Lagoon (it was dry, after all). We had been there for all of 5 minutes before it started raining. We decided to have lunch first and then go back, but when we went back it was so windy that after 15 minutes we had to give up. By then, we had sand everywhere. Nevertheless, we could say that we had been to the Lagoon!
In the evening, Alex (a German girl who worked at the hostel) took us to a bar with a live singer who took requests and asked people on the stage to sing with him. It was a lot of fun and we got Alex to sing 99 Luftballons on stage!

Since I had been feeling a bit sick lately, I
Brooklyn barBrooklyn barBrooklyn bar

The light is horrible in the picture, but the band was so good!
decided to have a quiet day in and bingewatch some series. When I took a break to have lunch, I was invited to come and chill at someone's apartment later. His flight was cancelled and the airline paid for the apartment for 2 nights, so he invited a couple people over. After a couple of games and drinks there (I won Cards against Humanity for the first time ever, finally met people with my sense of humour!), we went out to a club. I loved the music there; they even played a song from High School Musical (and I'm not ashamed to say I enjoyed that a lot!).

On my last day in Brisbane I convinced Alex and Gabriel to join me on a hike to the lookout point on Mount Coot-Tha (despite the fact that one of them was hungover). The walk itself was not that interesting, but the view from the lookout was breathtaking and the botanical gardens on the way back were lovely as well.

After my alarm at 4:45 (fun!) I flew to Christchurch, New-Zealand. Ready for a new adventure!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Does anyone have some full trash bags lying around?Does anyone have some full trash bags lying around?
Does anyone have some full trash bags lying around?

I might want to become an artist too.
View from the hostel's rooftopView from the hostel's rooftop
View from the hostel's rooftop

During a free BBQ ;)


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb