First blog!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Toowong
January 18th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I've decided to keep a web-log of my time over in China, internet censorship permitting! I've got no idea what my internet access will be like in Beijing, how frequently I'll be able to post, but i'll try my best - no promises!

For those out of the loop (like I usually am) I applied for an English-teaching position over the holidays and was accepted. From the start of February I'll be teaching at an international-run language school in Beijing on a six month contract. I was in BJ last during 2002, having studied Chinese langauge at a foreign-students uni there - so I fully accept that there will be HUGE changes in BJ. I probably won't recognise any of it... at least the streets will still go the same way! (hopefully...)

So i've got just under two weeks before I leave Brissie - it's been a nice summer here, and I'm not looking forward to the temperature difference (mid-to-high twenties here, low NEGATIVEs over there!!). I've managed to score some of my brother's warm-winter gear from Vancouver, and i'll buy some stuff when i get there (no gloves tho! i don't wanna buy expensive ones here because I know I'll lose them in a BJ cab or restaurant or something! So for the first few days my fingers will freeze! goodbye piano career!)

Speaking of, i'm hoping to take a little time off piano - although i doubt i'll be able to stand it long; i'm going to miss it. I've had a few twitches in my fingers lately from incorrect/poor technique, so hopefully the time off will give my fingers the chance to rest, and then i'll start playing again with "better" technique... yeah well, i can always hope!

OK I'll leave it here. Well done on not falling asleep during this first post! I'll actually have something to say by the next blog. Until then, just finalising things here (visa's all sorted!), saying goodbye to friends etc. Photos will come, I promise! (once i work this bloody blog-thingo out...)

Until then, 一路平安 (yilu-ping'an = safe journey... wishing myself that, how sad!)

Wade


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb