Fooled you all.... ;)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Southbank
July 28th 2008
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, what can I say? I couldn't fight the urge to write one last entry as this beautiful trip comes to an end. Actually, I just forgot about the fact that I had to sleep deprive myself in order to sleep on my long flight back home... so right now, I'm really bored in the hostel's lobby, trying to stay awake so that tomorrow (Louise's longest day EVER), will go by smoothly... I have a 150g chocolate bar in front of me and am running on about 4 hours of sleep from the night before. So far, so good.

Sunday night, I started feeling really antsy about my imminent trip back home.... I was packing and trying desperately to be efficient so that I wouldn't have much left to do when getting into Brisbane. I also knew that the hostel wouldn't be ready to accept me yet and that I would have to leave my stuff at the reception until the room was cleaned, which meant I had to pack for my day ahead as well. In short, I was restless... I don't think I got to sleep till about 11pm or even midnight (when the 3 guys got back in and turned all the lights on until I sat up in bed and told them off). I got up at 3am, got ready and was out of my beautiful Cairns hostel room by 3:40am. I was surprised to see the poor reception guy waiting there at the counter for me (and for everyone else who was stupid enough to sign up for the 3:55am airport shuttle bus). I attempted to eat some kind of breakfast, which consisted of 3 slices of "Kraft" type cheese and a key lime pie yogurt. Can we say yummy and healthy?!?!?! Nothing like sleep deprivation and crappy food to give your stomach the start it needs!!! Even though I hadn't had coffee, I felt like I had gut rut...

I got to the airport at 4:35am.... a little late since one of stops was extended (backpacker trying to say goodbye to his new found love - probably a girl he'd met about 2 days ago - while the whole van was yelling at him to get the fuck in... the driver almost took his stuff out of the trailor and left him there... I would've. But then again, I'm not so nice at 4am). I was still way early for my flight... but the later van would have meant only 25 minutes before flight time, and they don't let you in the gates at that point...

I went through, a blumbering idiot at that time of day (it's a surprise they didn't do a cavity search at security - I probably looked like such a hippie...), and wandered from shop to shop trying to distract myself. I read some, and then finally, we boarded. At this point of my trip, I've realized one thing, and it's a generalization, so I apologize in advance. Asians do not listen to instructions. Period. I don't know if it's because they know it doesn't matter, or they really don't listen, but it pisses me off (because I'm anally retentive and I do listen). It bugs me that when they call rows 15-26 of the aircraft, you get on to find 8 different asians in rows 1-10 already seated. I know it really doesn't matter, but this is just one example.

I immediately fell asleep after take-off for the 1.5 hours it took to bring me back to the city better known to backpackers as BrisVegas (no, I'm not joking, and yes, it is the most unimaginative stupid name you could have come up with). The city is full of drunkards - what could you realistically expect? I then rode into my favourite backpackers "resort", dropped my stuff, and headed downtown. I didn't do much except look around and do my best to keep busy until about 6pm, when I got the shuttle back. This is where it gets fun... Upon my arrival at the hostel, I was told my one of my roomies that there was no room in my room. So I went downstairs and talked to the people and they told me to wait around until they fixed things... They eventually did, and I had to change rooms, which was fine since I hadn't unpacked a single thing and hadn't made my bed. I was moved to room 209, which had a much better overall scent and cleanliness to it. Also, for my "trouble", I was given a free dinner at the bar!!!! Woohoo!!! Actually, this was a godsend since I didn't want to take out money and had $1.25 to my name and limited food supplies for the evening (a can of tuna and beans - yes, they put both in a convenient can!!! - some apricots and some cashews). It worked out well. Then I realized, after my meal (fish and chips), that it was only 7:30pm, and that I had a long night to go... so here I am. Burned, hurting all over, sleep deprived, but not enough, and sick of this hostel. In 11 hours, I'll be on a plane.

I hope you've found this entertaining on your Monday... I'll try not to write anymore cynical stuff before I get back...!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb