The Grampians and Brisbane...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Southbank
July 20th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

View from the topView from the topView from the top

Grampians National Park
Well I finally made it out to see the Grampians National Park on Saturday, on a tour with three other people. We left bright and early on Saturday morning, and headed off North-West, stopping in Beaufort for morning tea and biscuits (I do enjoy this british tradition), and then continuing on to Halls Gap, the major town in the National Park.

In terms of sightseeing, we didn't do very much, which was a bit disapointing, but expected with a guided tour. I didn't even get to see any climbing at all. We started off by doing an easy hike called Wonderland, going through the Wonderland ranges and getting a close look at the Elephant Hide (a rock formation that is slabby and looks, well, like an elephant hide). Then, we headed into town for some lunch. I have to say that even the town of Halls Gap wasn't very climber oriented. No cool climbing store, or stickers to be seen everywhere... maybe we weren't right about this being a mecca for climbing?

After lunch, we went to the Boroka and Reids Lookout. We also went to the Jaws of Death (which is what the Grampians are most renowned for).
Kangaroo in GrampiansKangaroo in GrampiansKangaroo in Grampians

Giving us quite the show while we were watching him...
They are pretty cool, although quite normal by Canadian rock standards 😉

We then headed to the Mackenzie Falls lookout, which was also pretty cool. If you're not aware, most of Australia is presently in a state of drought, which is bad since this is their winter and they should be replenishing their reserves at this time of year. Instead, they are getting worse and most states are in high stages of drought warnings, trying to limit water usage... The signs are everywhere in the hostels, which is pretty funny since you're talking about a mostly drunk population...! Anyways! So the falls are a bit lower in terms of water than usual, but they were still very cool and I went and sat on a rock and our guide took some pretty cool pictures of me on the rock. I can't load pics right now, but I'll put one up as soon as humanly possible! After that, it was back in the van and to Melbourne... for my last night of Melbournian city life! I was a bit sad... as always, leaving my newfound home and habits...

This morning, I flew into Brisbane and arrived at around 2pm.
Mackenzie FallsMackenzie FallsMackenzie Falls

Me sitting on a rock (as per usual) in front of Mackenzie Falls
It is only a 2 hour flight from Melbourne, and Qantas treats you pretty well - they feed you and they give you tvs 😊 Since I haven't watched tv that much since I left, it's a pretty cool treat. So I arrived in Brissie and headed to my hostel, which is in Southbank (South-West of the CBD).

My first impressions of Brisbane? It's a city of University students that have never grown up. It's a party town where you get checked out at every corner, and where everyone looks drunk. As of now, I'm not too fond of it... I'm not the type to come to a different county just so I can get thrashed partying all night and sleeping all day. I know some people enjoy that, but I'm not one of them... From the few hours I've spent here, I'm not too impressed and don't think I'll be spending much time here at all. In fact, I've already booked my plane ticket to Cairns for Wednesday... 😊 Unfortunately, I will have to spend the next couple days here, and endure the dirtiness of this hostel for the 3 nights I booked (I actually looked into others
Jaws of DeathJaws of DeathJaws of Death

Looks like a mouth...
tonight so I could get out of here, with no luck... ). So it's up early I will be, and going around town to avoid my time at the hostel. Sucks, but such is traveling sometimes! I am presently avoiding my room right now since the gross guy that's staying in the bunk above mine is drinking beer while checking out the guidebook and sitting on the bed next to mine. Yes, someone else's bed. We were the only two in the room of 8, and quite frankly, it was creeping me out... So I left. Anyways... I am hoping to check out the city tomorrow and then head off to Surfer's Paradise on Tuesday for a little day trip and day on the beach! It is quite warmer here than it has been in any other city I've been to, so I've got to enjoy it while I can!! Cairns should be even hotter, so I can't wait to get there and hopefully see the Great Barrier Reef!!!

Bye for now...!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb