Two weeks....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Bulimba
September 3rd 2011
Published: September 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Only two weeks.......seriously, in 2 weeks I'll be on the plane about to take off......it seems like the time has come around really quickly, despite a year + of planning.

For the first time the other day, I actually realised I may just get a teeny-weanie bit homesick....I was chatting to you Tiff, when it dawned on me. I will actually miss my friends, their smiling faces, and our great catch-ups.....and because I will be communicating mainly via email, facebook and my blog, I will miss your voices also....funny the things you get sentimental about :o}

As many of you have already heard me say, I can't see myself back in Brisbane after my trip......my plan at the moment is certainly to return, and I have my frinds, house, cat and job to come back to..... but this trip is going to change my life.....in SO many ways.....and I get the strongest feeling that I'll be heading in a new direction afterwards. Who knows? Time will tell....

So, today as I drove to Toowong to get my car serviced, it dawned on me that I may not have too many more drives along Coro Drive, or the pleasure of watching the rowers on river....I loved my days of rowing, so it's always great to see them.

So I have 2 weeks left of listening to radio DJs hamming it up ...in English (!!).....2 weeks of driving - hard to imagine I won't be driving for 5 months....I just may have to hire a motorbike in Cambodia......2 weeks of being with friends and being able to say "remember when we did such & such"....I won't have that continuity OS.

But in 2 weeks, the adventure begins......if the last week has been an emotional roller-coaster (thanks RMc & GP), what will the next 3 months of volunteering bring? Not for a minute do I think it will be a walk in the park, and I'm so glad that I have a 5 day weekend after my first week, so that I can do some travel, chill out, and hopefully catch-up with Jo T, or just get away with the other volunteers and have Fun, Fun, Fun.....But the volunteering is going to be so rewarding, and I feel blessed to be able to go up there and do this.

Thanks to everyone for your support. Thanks to everyone that has donated money (wow, the generosity has blown me away - many happy tears over this).....thanks for the laptop....thanks for the stationery.....thanks for the spectacles (I think I've got about 70 pairs to take up). Thanks everyone for your love and support........I'm truly humbled by everyone's kindness.

Please keep in touch...if you're not already on facebook with me, add me as a friend......if you need my personal email address, let me know......if you're on Skype, let me know as I'll be setting up an account, or reactivating my old one if I can remember the details..

Ok, I'm off to get my duffle bag out.....woohooo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb