Day 2 Bourke to Barcaldine Qld


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Barcaldine
May 13th 2015
Published: May 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 2 Bourke to Balcaldine


Queensland borderQueensland borderQueensland border

Tonina and I on the Qld border
Well what a very exciting day. We started driving at 6 am from Bourke. We knew there would be some issues with Kangaroos on the road for the first few hours. Well this is an understatement. I nearly hit three or four Kangaroos and I am talking only metres away from each one. All of them crossed in front of me while we were driving at100 km an hour. I had to prise my hands free from the steering wheel after those first hours. Plenty of emus and also hawks and eagles. My sister and eh husband hit an eagle with their windscreen. Also the road trains which have three large trailers each with twelve wheels. So scary to pass them. Paul's Troopy went really well (this is the one that Paul and I had been working on including taking the engine out). I also ran over a bloated kangaroo that had been hit the day before or so. When they are dead that long they bloat up. I ran over it and the kangaroo blew up and the underside of Troopy was a mess with smelly Kangaroo parts. Yuk, Yuk, Yuk. I will get Tonina to clean it up. Hahahaha
Cabin at BaracladineCabin at BaracladineCabin at Baracladine

This is our group relaxing after a days driving


Also see the map for our trip today. Tomorrow we travel 1000kms to end up in cairns qld


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

TroopyTroopy
Troopy

The best car in the world


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0158s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb