The Outback


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Barcaldine
March 23rd 2006
Published: March 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Just wanted to update you with news from the Outback. A few moments ago I sent you all links to my Yahoo Photo Album so you can see what I've been up to out there.

I was working on a cattle and sheep station out in central Queensland near a town called Barcaldine (600km inland from Rockhampton). John and Joss Chandler kindly had me to stay on their farm, Kyneton. Barcaldine is like something out of a 60's movie with all the old original buildings still standing with the old cinema still being used every Friday night!
The size of this farm is about 40km x 17km and holds about 5,000 head of cattle (mostly Santa Gurtrudis and Drought Master) and about 12,000 head of Merino sheep.
I was kept busy mustering (rounding-up), branding, shearing, de-horning, etc. I rode motorbikes and horses until my ass was raw!!!
Got to do some hunting and shot a few roos. Unfortunately we didn't get any wild pigs or dingo's.
My typical day consisted of the following:
05:30 - wake for breakfast then head out on the motorbike to muster up the cattle or sheep, 10:30 - smoko (tea) then carry on mustering
12:00 - lunch then spent rest of the day processing the livestock (tagging, shearing, de-horning etc)
06:30 - finish up and head home for a few beers
I must say it was hard work but was great to be outdoors all day doing some hard honest work for a change!
It really is beautiful out there and the sky is the biggest you'll ever see!?!
It was a fantastic experience and one that I'll never forget.
Thanks to John, Joss, Tom, Tim, Meg, Stan and Donna for looking after me and for giving me a taste of the Outback life.

Keep well guys

Mike


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb