1770- Scooteroo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » 1770
November 23rd 2012
Published: November 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

After leaving rainy Fraser Island behind we headed to a little place called 1770/Agnes Water. We arrived at a lovely hostel called Southern Cross which had its own pool and two dogs; I strongly believe that one of these dogs was actually a dingo. It went for two people just while we were staying there so god knows why it’s allowed to stay, either way I kept well away from the monster. 1770 was really just a stop off point to break up the journey to our next place but we had heard that whilst we were there we should do this thing called scooteroo.

I had heard a bit about the scooteroo; basically you ride around the town of 1770 on these little scooters that have been chromed up to look like Harleys. I was looking forward to it but I definitely underestimated how much fun this can actually be. It was really good for us because quite a few people from our Fraser trip were also doing it. So, together we went and got transfer tattooed and put on flaming leather jackets and helmets.

Now I really didn't think it would be too hard to drive these things but after having to complete a lap six times until they were satisfied with me I was thinking a little differently. You had to balance on them quite well which was a lot harder when you were going slowly. After this Gwenda and I ended up getting stuck at the back of the group- this was quite funny though as we could see everyone in front of us and were both just laughing our heads off at how funny we all looked in our gear driving around. After a while we were told we could overtake so we decided that we were sick of the back. Although I could barely even turn corners on my scooter we went crazy on the overtaking, whizzing past Lucy, cackling loudly, we soon caught up with our Canadian friends; Chad, Matt, Loring Grant and Lasse (Danish) from our Fraser trip and I managed to get a few before they overtook me back. At this point I had no idea where Gwenda was until she caught up with us at a stop to say her chain had fallen off as we were going for it.

The way back was the best part of the trip because we were riding into the sunset which looked incredible, especially on our little scooters, wind in our hair and all that.

All in all it was definitely one of the best trips that we ended up doing in Australia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb