Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Published: August 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Coober Pedy - Ayres Rock


Ayres RockAyres RockAyres Rock

Classic view of a monolith.
May 15, Friday:
The trip to Desert Oaks Caravan Park was interesting. Especially when I stopped the car and went into the bush to do some photography. I’ve been passing the same type of landscape most of the day but only appreciated it when I stopped the car and took a walk over the red soil that is typical of Central Australia.
The caravan park where I am tonight is a dump. I had to move the tent three times before I could get the pegs into solid ground. Finished up on top of a dirt mound. It’s like a junkyard all around me.
Weather it getting better. The car is going great, now it has a new exhaust.

May 16, Saturday:
Drove 265 kilometres west to Ayers Rock today. Climbed the “Rock” it was fantastic viewing the flat landscape that is in every direction except the Olgas to the west. After the climb I took a walk around the base and found some rock paintings in one of the caves.
Later that evening I set-up the still camera on a tripod and started taking shots of Ayers Rock as the setting sun changed the colours of the rock. I
Top of Ayres RockTop of Ayres RockTop of Ayres Rock

Not a sign post to rest on
also hand held the video camera to record the event on tape.
I think I know where my future lies and that could be travelling. Only costing $6 to stay overnight at the caravan park.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.844s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 14; qc: 95; dbt: 0.6639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb