Sunday 2nd November


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Ayers Rock
December 1st 2014
Published: December 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday it was time for me to leave Ayers Rock and head to Melbourne. I was up and ready to go in plenty of time to catch the shuttle bus to the airport and then took the 12 noon flight which was only a couple of hours, but dispute to the time difference I landed in Melbourne at 4pm. I collected my bags and got a shuttle bus to my hostel in the city centre.



I checked in and the first dorm I went to on the 3rd floor was an 8 bed room which looked a wreck with clothes and belongings strewn everywhere like bomb had exploded in a suitcase! Added to the fact that I couldn't see a spare bed except a top bunk with no bedding on but someone's stuff some had to trog down to reception again to sort it. She seemed very puzzled there was no bedding on the bunk but moved me to a 4 bed dorm which is actually more expensive but she didn't charge me more :-)



When I went in 2 beds looked occupied and there was a very large suitcase by the window but it was neat and tidy, however still no bedding on the bottom bunk. So I had to go down again and they said that housekeeping hadn't had enough bedding so they had had to wash more and were just waiting for it to dry and they would come up and sort it out for me, which they did.



I met my roomies later when they popped back from a scifi convention - yes gaming geeks! But they were lovely and not actually that geeky lol. They were brothers and one lived in NZ and had come over to see family and go to the conference. They said him had a quick chat and headed out again.



Later in I got a takeaway pizza as I didn't know where the local supermarket was and the 7/11 next door is well expensive and only small. I just chilled in the evening and chatted to the boys when they came back, they were heading off the next day. After they had done packing we all headed off to bed as they were leaving early in the morning.



Xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.7kb