Sydney: Back to Climb the Bridge


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
October 20th 2014
Published: November 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I was back! I'd lived in Bondi Junction, Sydney back in 2006/7 and while I was living and working there managed to do almost none of the must-do touristy things so when I booked my flights this time I told my travel agent to get me to Sydney for a week as I had unfinished business there. I arrived in my hostel in Potts Point and checked into my 10 bed dorm to meet some of my new roommates, three Finnish girls who were all lovely and welcoming (and very beautiful too) and after a quick chat and hello, I got some sleep. In fact, I slept from about half two in the afternoon, woke up for about two hours or so and slept again till nine the next morning...I need my sleep! I wasted no time the next morning and walked down to Sydney's famous harbour and remembered why it's such a beautiful city. The weather wasn't that great, it was dry and warm but overcast, however that still doesn't stop the harbour from looking spectacular. I familiarised myself with the harbour and the city and did a little bit if shopping as there were a few things I now needed to get and after strolling through the Domain Park I made my way back to my hostel.



The next day, I was booked to do the Sydney Harbour Bridge climb and was pretty excited as I didn't have the courage to do it the last time I was in Sydney. We were all suited up to look just like the mechanics in the Kwik Fit adverts back in the day and hooked onto the bridge. I booked this activity back in Wales months previous as I knew if it was booked, there'd be no backing out and I'd have to do it. To be honest I didn't find it that difficult. It's not strenuous at all but it is high. The most frightening part is when you climb up the steep steps (a ladder really) and you can see everything beneath you: the flowing traffic, the water and the odd train that passes through so it's best not to look down too much or your legs get a little wobbly to say the least. We walked up one side of the bridge, across the top of the middle section and back down the other side, all along being fed information by our guide through radio head sets. We had perfect weather for it, the sky was a deep cobalt blue which made the a Opera House look even more spectacular as it's white tiles shone in the sun. It's on the way down that the guide starts telling you about the deaths and near misses that occurred while the bridge was being built. Obviously they couldn't be telling you those sorts of stories on the way up or some people wouldn't make it to the top I dare say.



The next day I woke up bright and early for my day trip to the Blue Mountains. (Another must-do that I didn't last time.) the Blue Mountains are not that far outside Sydney and for years there was no way to pass through it. Nowadays it's a well-travelled path and the most iconic view is of The Three Sisters, which are three pinnacles that stand out high and proud in the mountains.



The Blue Mountains are named so because of the oil in the many eucalyptus trees there which when you look at them from a distance create a blue hue...and there are a lot of trees there! We rode a cable car across the gorge to have a great view of the Three Sisters and Anders (the Danish guy I'd made friends with) and I took the opportunity to ride the Scenic Railway, the worlds steepest railway up and down three times in total...we were like little kids running around so we could get back on the train. The train ride is a pretty steep one at 52 degrees (as it's name suggests) and you are travelling almost vertically for part of the short ride which takes you through a small, dark tunnel as part of the journey. The train has a glass roof and you have fantastic views if the rainforest and the Jamison Valley and is quite a thrilling ride. To finish the day off, we took a boat trip on Sydney harbour and it was great to see the famous sights from a different angle for the first time.



We had some new roommates when I got back to the hostel, Emily, 19 from England and Kristy who is 27 and from Cardiff. Emily was not feeling the best after her long old plane ride to Aus and so we planned to go to Bondi together the next day. We walked along the famous beach and along the coastal path as far as Bronte beach, looking at and admiring the 'Sculpture by the Sea' exhibits we passed along the way. Each year at around October time, they have the art movement with loads if quirky pieces by different Australian artists, I enjoyed it last time and it didn't disappoint this time either. I actually ended up in Bondi twice, sandwiched between another night out on the town with the girls which now included our two Northern Irish roommates Megan and Hannah as well as Mary from France. It was good to have a relax on the beach with the gang (I say gang because about 18 of us ended up going to the beach the second day) and enjoy Sydney's atmosphere.



After packing on my final day in Sydney and having a good chin wag with Kathryn, the Australian who had been sleeping in the bed below me, I made my way to the harbour for a final time. I had booked tickets to see The King and I musical in the Opera House as I'd been kicking myself for the last 7 years for not going to see something in the magnificent building the last time I was there. I had a standing ticket as that's all they had left last minute but it didn't take away from my enjoyment. It does help that I know all the songs in the show but the production was spectacular and I loved the fact that when you looked up while you were in the theatre, you knew you were in the Sydney Opera House as you could see the iconic shape of the roof from inside.



So, I had done the (sometimes cheesy), touristy things I'd missed out on last time and had a ball back in Sydney, thanks to the city and the great friends I met there....next stop, next continent. Farewell Australia, hola South America! (Deep breaths.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb