Gumboots and rainstorms.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
May 30th 2012
Published: May 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

rainrainrain

Right after being caught in the rainstorm
Day number two, and I'm already feeling better about the Australian pre school. We were told prior to coming over to Australia that the schools will be "laid back", but to experience the "laid back" puts much more of a meaning to the term. It's true in life also, we learn best by experience. I always try to keep a positive attitude, no matter the situation I'm in. I've always found that keeping a positive attitude helps every and any situation. And what I've learned from it? It's alwaystrue. For all of you who might be reading thing blog...if your having a bad day...keep your head up and read my blog for some giggles! I always have an odd story or two to slab a smile on your faces (I hope so at least.)

In my preschool today I felt more comfortable becoming engaged with the children and taking charge rather than sitting back and getting a feel for the classrom. The students I'm with are 4 and 5 years old (Turtles and Whales as I wrote in previous blog entries.) Today we split up the group and let me tell you, it made quite the difference. It's going to happen anywhere, children will feed off one another, and in this center it happens a good amount. I felt more "Structure" when the students were in two seperate groups. I anticipate this will happen in the upcoming weeks of my teaching, and if it doesn't, I will take charge of that my head week. I already have some curious preschoolers asking about snow so I'm eager to teach them about good ol' Minnesnowta.

Speaking of snow, another reason the day had a better feel was because Kelly and I (Kelly is the other Stout girl at my homestay house who is working in my center too) started working on one of our student teacher "assigments." We need to make a bullentin board and what better way to make a Minnesota bulletin board than....A snowman! (Photos will be coming later when bulletin board is complete. I know all of you are eager to see the creativity.)

For snack today the students had VEGIMITE mixed with riccota cheese. The staff in the center insisted that i try vegimite mixed with riccota cheese because "it tastes better." Well folks, I tried it, and yes, it does take away from the salty taste but it's still no peanut butter or nutella. I will say, however, vegimite tastes quite nice mixed with butter and put onto a rye cracker. When I say "quite nice" I mean I can stand the taste.

At the end of the day a pre schooler asked me if my mommy was going to pick me up from school today. Too cute. I told him my mommmy was across the world! Miss you mommy! 😊

After school today we hit up the Goonellabah Fitness and aquatic center. We wanted to swim but turns out theres swim practice so we were stuck with elliptical and treadmill. It sure felt good getting a workout in after eating the brownies, cookies, and tim tams lastnight and today. Tim tams are a popular cookie here (I also ate them when I was in Israel). What is tastes like? A girl scout peanut butter patty mixed with animal treasures. A box of these might find it's way into my suitcause back home.

We wanted an adventure...guess we got what we wished for! Australia is rainy, and today, was more rainy than normal. The rain got the best of us today and Kelly and I walked home in the rain storm. We walked up the hills (3 large hills) home...in the rain. A twenty minute walk. A hot shower felt good to say the least. I'm sure glad I had my gumboots. Gumboots are rainboots. I was told "nice gum boots" by a worker at the gym. Caught me off guard and now I have another word of my Aussie slang dictionary!

Since it's still Wednesday for most of you reading this....make sure you check out the sky tonight! The sky was VERY bright on our rainy walk home and it's Venus. It looked like day time in one part of the sky, and the clouds were moving so fast it looked like we were watching a slide show.

I hope you all only had to fill your coffee cup up once while you read that! (My blog yesteday was slacking, so this made up for it.)

Advertisement



30th May 2012

We applaud you!
Yes! Your positive attitude is GREAT. I am going to take that attitude with me to the Dr. today. We giggle and smile reading your blogs. You slab a smile on our faces every day. That sums up how much we enjoy reading your blogs. Loved the picture of you and Kelly today. Love, G & G
31st May 2012

i liked your blog today sarah--you write about interesting things--love to read your stories/adventures

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb