Spot X


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
April 22nd 2012
Published: April 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Took the Oz Experience from Sydney to Spot X on Friday 13th!! Suprisingly a lot of the people on the bus were actually British and we ended up making a nice little group of friends. The food at Spot X this evening was awesome and made a nice change to not have to cook for ourselves. We stayed in little river side cabins but I didn't get much sleep because one of the girls snored really loud!!

Had to get up early in the morning for our surf lesson, and breakfast was amazing with a range of toast and different spreads, loads of different fruit and cereals and unlimited juice! The surf lesson was definitely very interesting!!!
First they showed us how to paddle a how to jump up ont the board whilst we were just on the sand, then we went into the water and the instructors helped us catch a wave! I amazingly stood up on my first go! It was brilliant!! I may not have remained standing for ages but it still felt like a major achievement and was one of the first people in the group to stand. Needless to say it went downhill from there. I manage to stand up one more time but the attack of all the salt water eventually made me a lot more hesitant and gradually standing up whilst your in a wave does not work one bit! You have to go for it or it won't work at all. It was still all great fun even if I did feel like I spent most of the time trying to get out at sea and the waves bringing me back to shore all the time. Took a couple of bashed to my knees when I feel off the board which has developed into a spectacular bruise and sand is harder than it looks!! Carrying surf boards is also extremely difficult and my arms ached for the next few days. But it was all worth it as I had great fun. After the lesson we were all knackered and had a great laugh watching the photos of the session being shown on a big tv screen. Most of them seemed to be ass focused shots and not very flattering at all! Hahaha!!

In the afternoon the rest of our group boarded the bus and left but we had booked an extra night so we took the surf boards out again the following morning, $15 for 2 hours and had a go at it by ourselves....well that was the plan anyway. The instructors thought we were part of their group and started helping us again for free! I didn't get any better though and my body was taking quite the bashing and starting to feel quite sore. We were told we didn't need to wear wetsuits because the water is so warm, so we lacked the other protection they provided and I ended up with sore friction rashes on the tops of my thighs and my elbows from were they rub on the surfboard. So I decided to sunbathe whilst Anwen finished up surfing and that's it for the surfing for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb