City Dreamin'


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
November 13th 2010
Published: November 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever been to one of those places that makes you want to gather up your nearest and dearest and transport them to you immediately? Well Sydney is one of those places for me. The thought came to me as I was sitting on the steps of the Sydney Opera House watching the setting sun cast amber light over the Harbour Bridge (as you do). The place was swarming with beautiful creatures, swathed in designer gear, yet still managing to look effortlessly cool, on their way out to enjoy Friday night. Sydney is constantly swarming in beautiful creatures; girls in stylish dresses and impossible heels clutter the pavements all day, every day. And the men don’t think twice about donning well cut clothes and a man bag; they know they’re cool enough to pull it off so why worry what anyone else thinks? In fact, the only un-stylish people are the tourists and the tramps. I think if you forced Sydney to move to Europe it would insist on being Italian - great coffee, great food and more beautiful people than a Hollywood film set. Which is what made me want to gather up everyone I know and plonk them squarely in one of the Quay side bars.
Sadly, my backpackers budget limited me to one (very nice) beer and sandwich before I had to retreat to the steps and watch the sun go down. Still, not a bad life!

Money wise Sydney is on a par with London and as such is somewhere I think I will have to return to and work for a year, so I can properly enjoy it. Though it has been fun for a few days, the art gallery of New South Wales is excellent, though the museum of contempory art was very disappointing - very small collection and a lot of what was there was self-indulgent drivel if you ask me. A 13second video loop of a photocopier is not art people!
There are some lovely old buildings, nice parks, the waterfront is amazing and then there’s the Opera House and the Bridge. I think I might have fallen in love with the Bridge… Sad as that may sound, you haven’t seen it so you can’t judge.

This entry is turning out to be a little rose-tinted, for the sake of fairness I should probably point out that I have been
Very arty shot Very arty shot Very arty shot

maybe I should become a photograhper... maybe not!
soaked to the bone in Sydney 3 times now, and not one of them was from falling in the harbour. Didn’t really expect it to rain, but it is Spring and the parks/surrounding countryside is quite lush so I don’t know why I thought it wouldn‘t. But the rest of the time it’s been about a balmy 28degrees, which is just about right. As long as you’re not sleeping in an un-air-conditioned room with 7 other people. Then it’s a bit sticky. And noisy. And what is the polite thing to do if the person in the bunk below you keeps farting? Answers on a postcard please.

To be truthful the hostel I’m in is a bit of a dive, most inner city hostels are. I’m not too sure if it’s because of the amount of people passing through or because half the people there are living in the hostel for months on end (why people why?) but the kitchens are usually woefully under resourced (tried eating cereal with a fork the other day- tricky) and there’s always a shabbiness to them that no amount of cleaning will get rid of. Plus the ‘perms’ never really make much of an effort to talk with the travellers as they’re usually only staying for a night or two so the atmosphere just isn’t the same.

Anyways, tomorrow I am going to Bali. Yes, Bali! So excited, the true travelling part of my travels is here - bring on temples, sunrises and strange new foods. Though preferably without the mossies, sunburn and stomach bugs…




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Proof I was thereProof I was there
Proof I was there

strangers do not make good photographers!
And one last BridgeAnd one last Bridge
And one last Bridge

Coz we loves it so!


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb